We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME ITALIAN-MADE TO ORDER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anch'io Italian Restaurant

Anch'io Italian Restaurant
attached to Cafe Vienna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“AWESOME ITALIAN-MADE TO ORDER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I requested a dish not on the menu, they happily made exactly what I requested. Pasta in Olive oil w/ garlic, vegetables and chicken. Large amount & variety of fresh vegetables- dish was wonderful. Ronny was our server and I believe owner as well? Very accommodating. Spoke English fluently, Gave great advice on things to do. My husband had pizza, he was extremely happy w/ his meal. Desert was wonderful! Perfect size. Menu full of traditional Italian dishes. Want to go again before leaving! Thanks Ronny for wonderful meal. Very Clean. Everything is casual attire in area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    170
    86
    32
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
“Best Italian Food Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the best Italian restaurant we have been to ever. The food was delicious and extremely fresh and organic. You could taste the freshness from the farm. The Pizza the best in the world. We have been to Italy and still think this had the best Pizza's in the world. In our 5 day stay in La Fortuna we went to this place thrice.

Absolute must when you are staying in La Fortuna. The service is amazing and the owner is really very nice. We forgot our Camera (SLR) and he came and delivered the camera in the Taxi to us. I have never seen such nice people.

The best restaurant in the La FORTUNA.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We got there a little later and the pizza hit the spot after a day full of activity. This is a wood fire pizza and Italian place. The pizzas were smaller, thin, and cooked to a crispy perfection. There were 4 of us and we ordered a skald to share and three pizzas. Plenty of food for all. The place is clean and has a great decor for Italian in the middle of a Latin American hinterland. The staff was very friendly, the food was delicious.

This is a sit down style restaurant, it a rush pizza by the slice place. This is a great place to relax, have some basic table red, some appetizers, salad and pizza while taking in the fact your by a volcano in Costa Rica ..... Far off from the stresses of the rest of the world.

Overall, a great spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to this Restaurant after the Baldi Hot Springs and it was excellent and would go back there again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey, but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family of four ordered four pizzas and four soft drinks and the total bill came to over $80.00 US with tax and tip. Not what we were expecting for price - wow. But we did have leftovers that we took with us.
On the other hand, the food was very good, and we could tell that care was taken in the preparation. The atmosphere was very open and nice with lizards scampering on the walls and ceilings.
Parking is very limited and is on the busy main road.
The Especial was just good, the Volcano was flavorful, the Armonia was ok, and hands down our favorite was the Ricordo.
This is a better place for couples, and not to have an inexpensive family pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anch'io Italian Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Anch'io Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anch'io Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.