We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Save
You added Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Princesa de la Luna Ecolodge is a beautiful permacultural ecolodge near La Fortuna in Costa Rica. Perfectly quiet, waking up with the sound of singing birds and monkeys. The food is mainly local style food of high quality. From the ecolodge you have a precious sight of the Arenal volcano.

The perfect place to relax, or to celebrate your honeymoon, for the owner specializes in honeymoons.

there´s really no more to say than: Just excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    3
    7
    5
See reviews for
43
47
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location, feels like a jungle but only 10 minutes from La Fortuna. Service was excellent and accommodations were clean. Lots of open space and relaxing areas. Will go back anytime.
Bernardo Gutierrez
San Diego, California

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm not the kind of guy who goes to hotels and such, but this place is wonderful.
100% recommended.
The view and the peace around it it's amazing, thinking of going back there.
Congratulations to everyone involved in the hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Princesa de la Luna is a wonderfully rustic eco-lodge that allows you to get the true feel for life in the rainforest of Costa Rica. The lodge is located in close proximity to all of the activites in the Arenal area such as zip lining and hot springs. The view is astonishing from every vantage point and hiking on the property provides breathtaking scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I really do not know where to start.. This place was just amazing a true piece of paradise in the jungle. I got time to explore around Princesa.. this place is huge..(i got lost couple of times but found my way lol).. I met so many wonderful people though out my stay.. Johnathan (owner, great guy) William, Estaban, Gerlad, Jasmin (great cook) and Wayne.. It was a blessing being around them.

If you are looking for a laid back eco lodge experience with plenty of outdoors...Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge is the place for you. Go out there and experience the fun 1st hand. I loved this place and it's people..Created beautiful memories.


Much love. and Thanks to John, WIlliam and Gerald for the great hospitality. Felt like family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very strange experience. Seems that the total place was deserted, except for a dog.
The community cuisine is so dirty, my husband and I couldn't believe it.
The only person we saw was a volunteer...
The room was not clean. We drive to lake Arenal and found a lot of accommodations for less $$
Don't be fooled by the pictures.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soto11PV, Manager at Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I am sorry that you say you had a strange experience...it is an unusual place and most people appreciate that we are different to a normal hotel.
First I think it is important If we know when a guest is going to arrive then we can be ready to receive them, it is not possible to have someone waiting just in case a guest may arrive sometime during the day unannounced. Princesa de la Luna is a big place 25 acres we have a big maintenance schedule with tasks being carried out all the time.
The kitchen is in the heart of the house and because as it is an open plan design, always visible and in frequent use then it should always be kept clean and presentable so the staff are guilty as you say it was dirty and this is an error and should not happen ...We provide a full service but also allow guests to use the kitchen and someone may have just used the kitchen and it had not been cleaned up, which may have been the case here.
I do not know how you knew that your room was not clean if you did not know which room you would have had. It always helps us to know the estimated arrival time.
We have hundreds of fotos on the Internet ,nearly 200 taken by guests posted on Tripadvisor..and many elsewhere in the internet...we offer a completely different experience to a normal hotel as Princesa de la Luna is situated in a large tropical park with waterfalls ,swimming areas in the river , a swimming pool in the valley , the chance to see lots of fuana and flora and explore 6 miles of trails and be close to nature etc....we are not offering just a hotel room. If you had met the staff and other guests you may have had a positive and memorable experience like the vast majority of people who come here , it is an adventurous and social experience, we are not a conventional hotel and so it is not for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am not the kind of person who vows return to many places. Florence italy, a couple of restaurants far enough away from my home in ontario that a vow might be neccesary, and now princesa. Just far away enough from civilization. I found a complimentary mix of tranquility and adventure. There are two brilliant waterfalls on site, that the brave can climb, and a pleasant view of the volcano. I did enjoy the company of a wonderful american family over several delicious meals, i think that part of the joy of princesa is the mix and mingle element. The staff were reserved and very gracious, ready to help me with any concerns i had, by the end of the trip i knew them all on a first name basis. Hopefully someday i can return here with my family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Address: La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.