We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get out of the resort and into the rainforest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Save Saved
You added Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get out of the resort and into the rainforest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I gave this hotel a 5 star review and I stand by it. But you need to know there are a few quirks, although, I think these quirks make it all the better. 1st, you should have your own car and preferably a 4 wheel unit. The dirt road is rough with steep hills. If the road is wet it is going to be very difficult to get in or our. 2nd the drive up the road takes just as long as it does to get into La Fortuna. 3rd, the cabin we stayed in is plain and a little buggy, although it didn't bother me but it might bother others. We were in a cabin away from the main building which was nice and quiet, there were a few bugs inside, but who cares, you are in the rainforest and they don't bother you. The views of Mt Arenal are truly amazing from this hotel and next time we come we will definitely be staying here again. Also, the food was nice although dinner was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    3
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
46
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dade city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wanted my girls to experience Costa Rica and not from a resort. This place worked perfectly.Simple accommodations with very friendly people. Jonathan is awesome and very helpful.I would recommend renting a car since it is expensive to take taxi when you want to get around. It is a beautiful place and beautiful country.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arriving at the lodge at dusk, I was first struck by the well proportioned rooms, and the spacious veranda. I then went swimming in the exquisitely set pool, under large fern trees, showered by warm tropical rains; I haven't felt that alive in many years. The friendly owner and his local staff then cooked up a sumptuous traditional meal for us—I literally thought that the starters would have been passable as a whole dinner! We spend some unforgettable afternoons in peace and quietness on the property, just gazing into the forest and waiting for the volcano to lift its cloud cover (which it dramatically did in the end). We ended up staying an extra night.

All that being said, this property is being developed as a working fruit farm and the staff is stretched thinly by their many ambitious projects. There are many minor (and, depending on your standards, not so minor) issues; just read all the reasonably sounding reviews carefully and you will get the picture. But I couldn’t imagine a nicer place to watch the colourful birds and butterflies, peak into the cloud forest on the mountain slopes leading towards Monte Verde, and slowly sip a cup of coffee.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I and another couple spent 2 nights at Princesa de la Luna from February 19-20. We loved the grand verandah, we felt like we were in Africa looking out at the rainforest. We sat out on the very comfortable outdoor furniture and read, played with Paco and the other neighbourhood dogs and chatted with Jonathan. It was so unique and we were so glad to have the two bedrooms right off the verendah and to use the outdoor shower.

We ordered dinner for one night and had the traditional rice and beans along with other great food. All 4of us us agreed that this was a unique find - very rustic, but comfortable and like being one of the neighbours. We would HIGHLY recommend Princesa de la Luna for travellers who are okay being a bit off the beaten path and can enjoy sitting at night listening to the jungle sounds. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star, all inclusive resort then this is not the place for you. But if you want to experience real Costa Rica then you have found the right place! Princess de la Luna is an amazing property located in the middle of the jungle with gorgeous volcano views, trails, wildlife and waterfalls! The house is a very large and perfect for a big group. It is a bit on the rustic side though and I thought it could have used a deep cleaning of the whole place and and maybe some updating of a few things. Also the pools and jaquzzi were not really in working order which was disappointing. Other that that we were quite happy with the place. There are large sitting areas that made it perfect for our large group to hang out together and admire the views! Finding the place was pretty easy although a bit of a trek but worth the effort to get there! It is also quite near to La Fortuna where there are shops, resaurants and grocery stores and its a short distance from zip line adventures and the hot springs.

The customer service was as good as it gets!! Although i think he was surprised to see us when we arrived, I can't say enough great things about Jonathan. He made every effort to keep our party of 10 happy and busy. He gave several recommendations for fun things to do in the area, set up activities to the hot springs and zip lines for us, got us great deals, hired taxis when we didn't want to drive, gave us directions when did drive, cooked us food when we set up meals with him in advance and even ordered pizza for us when we didn't give him enough notice to cook dinner! As an added treat on the day of our departure he demonstrated how he made fresh sugar cane juice which we got to
drink with our breakfast! He couldn't have been more
accommodating.

Overall we had an awesome time staying here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting something a little off the beaten track!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you want to embrace nature and don't like resorts, this is the place to be. It has an amazing view to the volcano, in a place full of life, lots of fruits and plants.
There are jungle trails you can explore and a beautiful waterfall. We spent just a weekend there, but enjoyed the place and the surroundings.
If you dont want to stay in typical resort with all included but prefer to cook, and feel at home in an exotic garden in a rainforest, go to Princesa de la luna, it is cheap and good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I had an wonderful time at Princesa de la Luna. It was great to stay somewhere that wasn't your typical hotel. I truly enjoyed spending time with the people there. On the propriety they have an amazing amount of different types of exotic fruits and plants. Some of the most beautiful flowers and craziest looking fruits I've ever seen. I really got to learn a lot about different types of plants and animals, that I never would have from any other hotel.
The views around the grounds of the volcano were magical. All the different trails through the jungle and some that lead to some waterfalls on the propriety were awesome!! It was nice to stay somewhere away from the city and away from the same old tourist scene. It was extremely peaceful and wonderful staying somewhere where you felt like you were living in the Rainforest.
Next time I'm back in La Fortuna I will definitely come back to Princesa de la Luna.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Address: La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.