We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "real" Costa Rican adventure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Save Saved
You added Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A "real" Costa Rican adventure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star, all inclusive resort then this is not the place for you. But if you want to experience real Costa Rica then you have found the right place! Princess de la Luna is an amazing property located in the middle of the jungle with gorgeous volcano views, trails, wildlife and waterfalls! The house is a very large and perfect for a big group. It is a bit on the rustic side though and I thought it could have used a deep cleaning of the whole place and and maybe some updating of a few things. Also the pools and jaquzzi were not really in working order which was disappointing. Other that that we were quite happy with the place. There are large sitting areas that made it perfect for our large group to hang out together and admire the views! Finding the place was pretty easy although a bit of a trek but worth the effort to get there! It is also quite near to La Fortuna where there are shops, resaurants and grocery stores and its a short distance from zip line adventures and the hot springs.

The customer service was as good as it gets!! Although i think he was surprised to see us when we arrived, I can't say enough great things about Jonathan. He made every effort to keep our party of 10 happy and busy. He gave several recommendations for fun things to do in the area, set up activities to the hot springs and zip lines for us, got us great deals, hired taxis when we didn't want to drive, gave us directions when did drive, cooked us food when we set up meals with him in advance and even ordered pizza for us when we didn't give him enough notice to cook dinner! As an added treat on the day of our departure he demonstrated how he made fresh sugar cane juice which we got to
drink with our breakfast! He couldn't have been more
accommodating.

Overall we had an awesome time staying here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting something a little off the beaten track!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
45
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you want to embrace nature and don't like resorts, this is the place to be. It has an amazing view to the volcano, in a place full of life, lots of fruits and plants.
There are jungle trails you can explore and a beautiful waterfall. We spent just a weekend there, but enjoyed the place and the surroundings.
If you dont want to stay in typical resort with all included but prefer to cook, and feel at home in an exotic garden in a rainforest, go to Princesa de la luna, it is cheap and good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I had an wonderful time at Princesa de la Luna. It was great to stay somewhere that wasn't your typical hotel. I truly enjoyed spending time with the people there. On the propriety they have an amazing amount of different types of exotic fruits and plants. Some of the most beautiful flowers and craziest looking fruits I've ever seen. I really got to learn a lot about different types of plants and animals, that I never would have from any other hotel.
The views around the grounds of the volcano were magical. All the different trails through the jungle and some that lead to some waterfalls on the propriety were awesome!! It was nice to stay somewhere away from the city and away from the same old tourist scene. It was extremely peaceful and wonderful staying somewhere where you felt like you were living in the Rainforest.
Next time I'm back in La Fortuna I will definitely come back to Princesa de la Luna.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am SO incredibly happy that we stayed at Princesa de la Luna. I hope hope hope hope we can go back someday. We are a family of 5 with 3 young kids under 5 (4 1/2, 2 1/2, and 7 months). The kids absolutely LOVED the place, especially all the dogs and jungle trails to explore. We stayed for just a few nights and spent 1 in a cabin and the rest at the main lodge so that we could be connected to the common areas and utilize that space while the kids were sleeping in the room. (Otherwise we just had to stay put in the dark cabin while the kids slept).

Anyways, the bottom line is that we were disappointed at first because the place is really not anywhere near what it is advertised to be on the vacation rental sites. And that is on the property manager, not the owner who lives on site and has nothing to do with the business side. In that regard, it is definitely overpriced - if you pay the regular price, which we did not, you will likely be frustrated by how unclean it is and how the amenities do not match up to the online description. We received the last minute booking discount that they advertise, thankfully.

Examples of disappointment = the hot tub is not usable and clearly hasn't been for a while. The pool looks nothing like the picture and needs to be better maintained - not fundamentally altered because it's a "natural" water pool but it does need to be regularly cleaned. The cabins are in need of some structural updates and TLC. They also simply need to be consistently cleaned - sweeping, mopping, get some new bedspreads and pillows, sanitize the mattresses, and clean/sanitize the bathrooms. The common areas, especially the kitchen and its equipment needs to be consistently cleaned/sanitized. Best case scenario would be to clean everything up, get rid of the existing fridge and build a walk-in cooler with freezer section and a walk-in pantry. They should get some netting to place around the balconies so that parents can relax a little more while having kids there. We did it at our own cabin property in California - not expensive and can be done easily in 1/2 a day. The hot tub should be well maintained and functional all the time if they are going to advertise it. It is a huge part of the reason we booked the place. The main lodge rooms needed to be cleaned as well but are in much better structural condition than the cabins. Consistent cleaning and a replacement of bedspreads and pillows there is all that is necessary. The towels are WONDERFUL. In order to keep linens in better condition, they should use soap nuts (http://www.naturoli.com/soapnuts/) for washing with a little eco-friendly bleach (7th generation makes a good one) and dry with wool balls.

There should be an accessible phone somewhere in the common area and an emergency plan so that people know who to call and what to do in an emergency.

The restaurant idea is cool but he needs a better set up to really make it work. We didn't experience it at all because it wasn't an option while we were there. We did benefit from some of the delicious fruit and vegetables on the property. Some day I hope to go back and learn how to harvest sugar cane and make sugar cane juice! We were really disappointed that we didn't get fresh juice at the lodge but we DID get some from the precious neighbors!

Internet is fine - you just have to be close to a certain location to use it. The dirt/rock road to the lodge is one of my favorite things about the whole experience. It is truly off the beaten path. The grounds are perfect. ABSOLUTELY perfect. And, the neighbors are perfect.

The onsite host is also the owner AND the builder and cultivator of this amazing property. He tries to run it as sustainably and communally as possible and deserves HUGE CREDIT for that. However, it's just too much work for him to do on his own or with the help of nomads staying for short periods of time. He needs to hire a few people (3-5) who are focused solely on keeping the place clean and sanitary as well as structurally maintained and up to the advertisement's standards. A huge bonus would be to have someone (like my husband) with vision for continual improvements and the ability to keep moving it towards Jonathan's original grand vision. My husband and I were imagining all the awesome ways this place could be the absolute greatest place in the entire country to stay. This place DESERVES to be that. It is unbelievably situated - I wish I was Jonathan's daughter so that I could help him and then inherit this property. Seriously... it is THAT amazing. He did an outstanding job and has a beautiful vision for what he hopes it will be. We will definitely go back someday.

Room Tip: The main lodge is the best!!! They are spacious and connected to the amazing common area. The cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We came across this wonderful lodge by accident. We were actually looking for another lodge to see if they could accommodate a walk in customer for the night. We drove down the jungle driveway to find a beautiful wooden lodge situated in a wonderful jungle garden. The setting was a paradise and my party fell in love with the environment at first sight. Happily we were able to be accommodated for the night and were happy to have rooms in the lodge. The rooms were well appointed, one with a king bed and attached bath, the other had a queen and a single bed along with attached bath.

The surroundings are magnificent. There are many trails from the lodge that will take you on a wonderful jungle hike. We noticed no bugs (at least stinging ones) and really appreciated the authentic and casual surroundings. I enjoyed using the well equipped common kitchen and appreciated the uniqueness of this facility. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with the host and getting to know more about his passion for exotic gardening and getting tips for local restaurants and activities.

One night was not enough to really appreciate this lodge/property. We certainly hope to return for a longer visit. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of La Fortuna, but it's definitely worth the drive. You feel like you're the only people around as you make your way through the one-lane drive surrounded by tropical plants. The main lodge is huge and offers the best views of Volcano Arenal. There is a pool and hot tub, hammocks and couches, and miles of trails to explore. My friends and I stayed in a cabin away from the main lodge which was nice. There was a queen bed and two twins, and we had our own bathroom. The cabin was a little buggy, though. We didn't get to hike around most of the trails, but we heard they were beautiful.

We had breakfast there every morning, which was delicious, and had dinner there one night. Dinner was also tasty, but seemed a little over-priced for what we ate. There are great restaurants in town, but you'll have to make the drive if you want to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I checked into Princesa De La Luna looking for a place with plenty of natural beauty, wildlife, and a pretty view of Volcano Arenal and I wanted the feeling of seclusion and relaxation but still to be close to town and lots of fun activities. This is the place ! Awesome. There is a beautiful mountain stream with natural pools, waterfalls and hiking trails on the property. The deck of the main lodge area offers a beautiful view. Right on the property we saw Toucans, Blue Morpho butterflies as big as a soucer, Pizotes, Oro Pendulum (which make the most beautiful bird call we had ever heard) and several Pecaries which the staff said occasionally pass through. So we got lucky by seeing those. The place is close to town and the best canopy tour I've ever been on called Adventura Del Mundo..Not for the faint of heart but I talked my 70 year old mother into going on it with us and after the first cable she lost her fear and absolutely loved it ! In the town of La Fortuna we found good restaurants and a lot of activities. Some good souvenir shops too if your into that. I recommend the horseback ride to La Fortuna Waterfalls. Princesa De La Luna was a wonderful experience for us , the staff was friendly and the owner was full of knowledge about the area and glad to offer suggestions for fun. We'll be back !

Room Tip: I looked at all the room options and it just depends on you. The private cabins are just that, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Address: La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.