We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Save Saved
You added Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of La Fortuna, but it's definitely worth the drive. You feel like you're the only people around as you make your way through the one-lane drive surrounded by tropical plants. The main lodge is huge and offers the best views of Volcano Arenal. There is a pool and hot tub, hammocks and couches, and miles of trails to explore. My friends and I stayed in a cabin away from the main lodge which was nice. There was a queen bed and two twins, and we had our own bathroom. The cabin was a little buggy, though. We didn't get to hike around most of the trails, but we heard they were beautiful.

We had breakfast there every morning, which was delicious, and had dinner there one night. Dinner was also tasty, but seemed a little over-priced for what we ate. There are great restaurants in town, but you'll have to make the drive if you want to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    19
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
45
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Samara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I checked into Princesa De La Luna looking for a place with plenty of natural beauty, wildlife, and a pretty view of Volcano Arenal and I wanted the feeling of seclusion and relaxation but still to be close to town and lots of fun activities. This is the place ! Awesome. There is a beautiful mountain stream with natural pools, waterfalls and hiking trails on the property. The deck of the main lodge area offers a beautiful view. Right on the property we saw Toucans, Blue Morpho butterflies as big as a soucer, Pizotes, Oro Pendulum (which make the most beautiful bird call we had ever heard) and several Pecaries which the staff said occasionally pass through. So we got lucky by seeing those. The place is close to town and the best canopy tour I've ever been on called Adventura Del Mundo..Not for the faint of heart but I talked my 70 year old mother into going on it with us and after the first cable she lost her fear and absolutely loved it ! In the town of La Fortuna we found good restaurants and a lot of activities. Some good souvenir shops too if your into that. I recommend the horseback ride to La Fortuna Waterfalls. Princesa De La Luna was a wonderful experience for us , the staff was friendly and the owner was full of knowledge about the area and glad to offer suggestions for fun. We'll be back !

Room Tip: I looked at all the room options and it just depends on you. The private cabins are just that, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is really in the jungle/ tropical setting some people crave. It is definitely rustic. We had rooms in the upper level, they were good. The patio outside was the best part. Definitely is a great place to hang out. The furniture could us an update. Breakfast was good, dinner is overpriced just go to town. I found the downstairs portion to be a little run down, perhaps some renovations wouldnt hurt. The setting is beautiful, so many trees and nature. One morning I came out and saw so many birds! Toucanets included. JOnathon was very nice.

The road there is definitely something you need to know. Have a car is a must, and it's going to be bumpy. Also, it's too far to walk so it could feel confining if you didn't have your own car.
Lastly, there is no hot water. I guess it comes with the atmosphere. Overall, We had a good stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What can I say about this place? Huge rooms and huge beds. Picture perfect deck overlooking the jungle for a lazy moments of birdsong and reading. Wonderful home style meals. Stunning grounds. Wonderful trails (to a private waterfall no less!!). Beautiful fresh-water pool. Gracious and helpful host. We had a blast. I'd go back again in a heartbeat. All you have to do to get all this is drive on a bumpy dirt road for ten minutes. Well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a lovely time at this Eco Lodge, where we stayed for 3 nights. When we arrived, Jonathan, the owner, and Paco, head of security (the cutest dog), greeted us and made us feel right at home. We stayed in a room at the end of the walkway from the kitchen area. When Jonathan opened the doors to the little terrace our jaws pretty much dropped. The property is breathtakingly beautiful. We had the place to ourselves for the 1st night as well as the following day and enjoyed spending the day (it was raining heavily) on the deck of the main building overlooking the stunning property. Jonathan was very attentive and interesting to talk to. It was nice that he took the time to sit down and chat in the middle of preparing for the arrival of more guests. He even brought us coffee to the deck that afternoon.
The breakfasts we had there were delicious. We enjoyed having fresh fruit that was grown right on the property. Sadly, we only had one dinner there on the first night we arrived - it was a freshly prepared local dish, which was excellent. The meals are served on the terrace from where you enjoy great views of the magnificent property. We were able to hike the beautiful trails on our second day when the sun came out. I highly recommend doing that.

We approached Jonathan with 2 maintenance requests, which were taken care of immediately.

I would agree with other reviewers that said this place isn't for everyone, but if you are looking for spectacular views and for being immersed in nature and spending time with wonderful people who actually care and enjoy community - this is the place to be. Don't look any further. I'd come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Man, we sure did fall in love with this place. There were 7 of us, so they gave us run of the Pineapple House. The building is a 3 minute walk from the main lodge and absolutely perfect for those in search of a communal atmosphere. 3 bedrooms, a large living room, a basic kitchen and a bathroom. The best part, however, was the huge covered patio area with large picnic table and couches. We basically spent all the time not spent sleeping or off on adventures (whitewater rafting, hot springs, ziplining) hanging out here.
When Jonathan realized that I was interested in exotic plats and fruit, he started bringing over lovely edible gifts each day - many fruits I had never even heard of. There are about 6 miles of fairly well-maintained paths to wander around the property, which is stunning. We loved the pool - I think it's fed by the waterfall in the rainforest and feels amazing!
Johnathan was a star for helping us manage transport with a local driver named William. William picked us up at the airport in San Jose and brought us to the Princesa. He drove us to the various activities we did in the area and then he even drove us to the West Coast for the second half of our trip. He's ridiculously nice and we fell in love with him. So much so that we asked him to pick us up at the beach and take us back to San Jose and he kindly agreed. The price was absolutely fair and SOOO much less stressful than renting a vehicle big enough for 7 people and trying to navigate the crazy dirt roads. Definitely recommend hiring William! If you're really nice, he may even bring you the freshest pineapple you've ever eaten.

Here's the bottom line: this place is not posh. It is not luxurious. There's no hot water in the shower (but it's not super cold either and actually feels great once you get over the idea of no hot water.) It's not a hotel. It is, however, absurdly beautiful. It is unique and welcoming and totally charming. It is also staffed and owned by some incredibly wonderful people who are dedicated to making sure you are taken care of and have a good time. If you are seeking to get an authentic, unforgettable experience and you don't mind the occasional dog coming up for a cuddle or a random insect here and there, this is the place for you. If not, then find a reputable hotel complex nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you want an authentic, cultural Costa Rican experience, I would definitely recommend this lodge. It is beautiful and situated on 25 acres that has some of the most picturesque areas in all of Costa Rica. Ironically, we came to this lodge to hike around the Arenal volcano, but we found the hikes around the lodge much more challenging, adventurous and beautiful.
Jonathon, the owner, is an extremely charming gentleman. He is extremely accommodating and wants to ensure the comfort and happiness of all his guests. My boyfriend and I, had a couple challenges at the lodge and Jonathon was there at the moments notice to make sure everything was taken care and that we were satisfied.
The eco-lodge component is another facet I found extremely fun. The lodge is surrounded by fruit trees that bore delicious tropical fruits that we were able to eat at every meal. Also, most of the staff lived around the property. Diego, the driver lived a few meters from the lodge. He was super laid back and always available to take the guests to their destinations or serve as a guide and show some really cool areas around La Fortuna, that we would not have been able to see otherwise.
I can go on and on about this place. But essentially, it was lovely and a definite backpackers' dream. I would highly recommend this place to all those seeking fun and adventure in Costa Rica :)

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is attached to the main building and kitchen area. I found these rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Address: La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.