We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living In the tropical forests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Save
You added Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge to your Saves list
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living In the tropical forests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Look out from the balcony of this lodge and all you can see is dense tropical forests. You are living literally in the forests, but maybe just out of it. The customer service was superb. The owner took a day or two to warm up to us, but once he did he was very welcoming. He served some cheap, traditional and really good breakfasts.

The best part about this is that there are a number of hikes that you can do, just outside the house. I love the hike that leads to the waterfalls. The swimming pool has natural water and it also makes for a great experience, if you get up early morning. It can be a little too hot later in the day.

The only inconvieninces were that this is a bit away from the town (2-3 miles) & the road going up is a little rough. There was also dim lighting in most of the rooms which made it hard to read in the night.

The place is safe & cheap. The customer service was fabulous and the experience of being amidst the tropical forests was ecstatic!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms connected to the deck overlooking the forests, so you can sleep outside at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    23
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
52
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Princesa de la Luna is a true unique experience. If you're looking for a luxurious resort you should look elsewhere. However, if you're looking for a unique and authentic Costa Rica experience this is perfect. The location is absolutely beautiful. I recommend taking a walk in the morning and taking in nature's beauty.
The house is truly amazing. The architecture is unique and almost one with nature. The common areas are open so you have an amazing view anywhere you go. There are plenty of sitting areas to relax and Jonathan (the owner) is incredibly helpful and can help book any activities you might be interested in. Something to be aware of is that the house is a little off the beaten path so it's difficult to find at night, I recommend trying to check-in during the day time. Also, if you're driving keep in mind you need to drive on a dirt road uphill so SUVs might be better. Another thing to keep in mind is that because you are in the middle of nature and the house is open you will see insects, bugs, lizards, etc but it's part of the whole experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I'll start with the positives, but there are a couple of less-positive points at the end.

Fantastic view of Arenal. The property is beautiful and huge, there are plenty of hiking areas AT THIS PROPERTY. The rooms are nice - each room is basically it's own place except for the mainhouse, which has two rooms. Lots of wildlife, but you have to look for it. Birds aplenty. Bugs too, but the mosquitoes were not even noticeable and we didn't really find that we needed bug spray in the evening.

Jonathan is an awesome host. He came up each morning with fresh fruit to share and to check in on us. He made arrangements for dinner to be made a couple of nights at the place as well at a VERY reasonable price, and they were delicious. He brought up sugar cane and pressed it for juice with our kids, that was fun as well. His dogs were happy companions and visitors, and he's a source for GREAT travel stories - just a really interesting fellow. We all really liked Jonathan, and also Williams and the others that came in to cook.

The Lodge is up a rock and dirt road, maybe a kilometer and a half away from the main road, and you do feel like you're far away from civilization. We liked that. There's plenty of room to spread out and explore in the lodge as well (well, I say in, but most of it's outside but covered). You're about 4 kilometers or less south of La Fortuna.

The lodge itself was nice. The temperatures in the evening cooled off enough that you didn't need air conditioning (which they do not have), just turn on the ceiling fans and it gets comfortable. The outside kitchen - well, it's a working kitchen, and although guests can use it, it's better to leave to the regular cooks for the most part, I think. Guests get their own refrigerator for stocking food, but put the dry stuff away or else animals can get into it in the evening. It is the wilds, after all.

If you're looking for a swimming pool experience, I'm not sure this is the place for you. There are two pools, but one was unusable and the other one was being filled and was quite a ways down the hill to get to - you'll work up a big sweat going to or from the pool. Frogs love their pools and hot tub, which requires a lot of draining and refilling. We didn't use the pool OR the hot tub while we were there for four nights, and I really don't feel like we missed anything. There's too much other stuff to enjoy while you're there.

I found myself getting up at 5 AM and enjoying the beginning of the day with the birds. Do it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Everything about it was exactly what I was looking for! I wanted to feel that I was in another world and that was what it was like. You can sit on the porch and watch the clouds hide or reveal Arinal Volcano. It was beautiful and unique. The food was wonderful and Johnathan was a pleasure to sit and talk with. He also took us for a walk around his grounds since my sister and I were so interested in plants. I loved the big lap dog, a Great Dane named Luna. She stole my heart.
Having been to Costa Rica before and being told that the best zip lines were the ones I had done in Monteverde, I was worried about being disappointed by the ones around the corner from Luna Lodge, but I had nothing to worry about. I have to say that anyone who thinks Monteverdes are the best have not tried the ones at Mundo Aventura. They were just as exciting and beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The setting is perfect for relaxed mornings on the big open porches over looking the huge Arnal Volcano... nearby is the BEST rapelling and the zip line at Mundo Aventura in La Fortuna crosses over the La Fortuna waterfall and has the LONGEST Zip in the country... pretty cool that this is so close to the Eco Lodge. Very good food... laid back environment... the town of La Fortuna is not far... it feels safe and welcoming to tourists... great hot Springs at Eco Termales... be sure to eat the whole fried fish at Rancho de Mina at the turn off to Eco Lodge (it rivals any 5 star in a big city) and the small Sodas are very affordable and clean.
Loved our stay at the Pricesa de la Luna Eco Lodge!!!
The gardens are lush and the swimming pool is a little bit of a walk but it is worth it.

Room Tip: we loved the two rooms for our family that adjoin the big open porch and above the kitchen - it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Located a few kilometers up a dirt road, this lodge offers stylishly appointed rooms in a relaxed jungle setting, with spectacular volcano views (if you're lucky and the mountain isn't covered by clouds). The turnoff can be tricky to spot, but once you get there it's a little garden oasis. There's plenty to do in the surrounding area, and Jonathan and Synaca can offer advice and book tours. There's some trails to explore on the property as well. The Food is great too!

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Josecito, Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

That's how I would describe Jonathan and his helpfulness in recommending activities in the area. We spent two nights here when my sister and her son visited from the United States during Costa Rica's busiest holiday week, "semana santa." Our reservation was for just 3 people, but Jonathan quickly accommodated the 5 of us, when we arrived just before dinner. We loved the home cooked meals that Jonathan and his staff prepared, including the "patacones" which if you haven't had before, be sure to mention. The lodge is lovely, open to the gardens and rain forest. The porches in front of all the rooms were a great place to relax and watch birds. My advice about the Princesa is to plan to spend a full day on the lodge's grounds themselves, as there are amazing birds, trails, waterfalls and pools to expolre. We definitely plan to return here soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge

Address: La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Princess of the Moon Ecolodge is nestled in a lush tropical plant farm with a great location. This magical place is unusual, with more than 100 types of fruit trees, including many threatened and endangered species. The area is one of the most biodiverse and fertile in the world so wonderful to understand, observe and experience wildlife and nature. The aim is to integrate the principles of permaculture and creating a lifestyle self-sufficient and sustainable in harmony with the local biodiversity. Swimming pools, waterfalls, jacuzzi and many hiking trails on the farm as well as many other activities in the area. This is an interesting place for a honeymoon or a romantic adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princesa De La Luna Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.