We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catarata Eco Lodge S.A to your Saves list
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while taking birding tours around the zone. The staff was always nice and willing to help, even when we requested a couple of additional towels since we were leaving at 4:30am one of the days. My wife took breakfast once and it was good as well. We didn't get the chance to walk in the gardens or enjoy the pool, but from what we could see, it was a nice place to spend the day.
We got on a Friday night and we were upgraded to a room with TV, since the original one didn't have it. It's not a fancy hotel, but for our needs it was just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thanks For your review!!! will be always trying to bring a great service, Thanks and we hope you come back and enjoy the pool and more!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

So this place is nothing special... The staff is friendly and the cabins are legit, and we appreciated the gardens and pool... But it was lacking on the little things- internet doesn't work on rooms and there's no ac or tv in rooms... This being stleast we didn't feel as though it was a rip off... Just it could have been better that's all.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su critica, lamentamos que su estadía no haya sido de lo mejor, queremos destacar y corregir, que nuestro sitio web resalta que no poseemos Aire acondicionado y tampoco TV, por lo que es una simple aclaración a clientes que piensen sobre una estafa, agradecemos su sinceridad, vamos a mejorar mucho mas nuestros servicios. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Catarata Eco-Lodge is located a ways outside the tourist town of La Fortuna (an $8 cab ride) and since we didn't have a car, I was a little concerned, but really wanted NOT to be in the town. I also knew we would be within walking distance of several of the attractions I was interested in--the Cerro Chato hike, and the Cascada La Fortuna. You can also walk to an area where there is swimming in a river with warm springs, but we didn't have time for that. All tour operators will pick you up there and the dinners, typical Costa Rican food, made traveling to town thankfully unnecessary. Breakfasts are included and very good. The pool was a big plus for me--good size, set in a lovely garden, with a view of the volcano (almost always shrouded in clouds but still beautiful) and visited by wonderful tropical birds. Our room was large and comfortable. There is wi-fi and a tv and couches near the dining area, but with all the hummingbirds and other wonderful birds to see, it didn't matter. Staff are very helpful, quickly responsive, and just plain nice people. Somehow, even with a small staff and small kitchen, they are very efficient. A tour bus arrived when we were ready for dinner with a group of more than 20 and it didn't effect our dinner service in the least. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Hey dear!!!! amazing thanks for your review!!! we always like to give you and to all the best what we can do!!! have a great day!! thanks so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were looking for a quiet place which was not so close to main road. This perfectly fitted! It was quiet, clean and with hammocks in front of the door to cool out and watch some humming birds. The breakfast was included and really good. We also got a lot of help from the reception, especially from Jessica. From the town of La fortuna its about a 5 dollar taxi ride.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thanks For your review!!! Jessica will be happy by this, and to all clients!! Our wish is that you enjoy at max here!!! thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I took a group of college students here on a study abroad trip when visiting the Arenal Volcano and waterfall. This is our second year staying at this location, and it is one of my favorites, mostly because it offers just what we need. The food is great, and most students reported that it is their favorite food of the trip. The surroundings are beautiful, especially in the early morning. It's not too fancy, which was perfect for us. I love journaling in the hammock outside my room at night and getting up early to see the birds that gather on the wide variety of flowers and on the oranges the staff puts out in trees by the eating area in the morning. Off the beaten path, and perfect for that reason.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thanks for this review!!! our food is made with LOVE that's our secret!!! so all customers if you want to know if she say the truth!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The accommodations are simple and comfortable. If you are looking for amenities such as television, internet access, fancy furniture - this is an eco-lodge and not what you seek. If you're looking for a comfortable bed, bathroom with shower, clean and well-maintained facility, reasonable cost, and a restaurant with good food, this is an option to consider. The restaurant serves dinner and a good breakfast is included. So the fact that it is a little bit out-of-town does not matter. A bonus is that the staff puts fruit on a tree near the restaurant so that you can watch fantastic birds while enjoying breakfast. The grounds and the setting are gorgeous. The staff is really friendly and helpful.

We stayed for one night so that we could see Arenal and do some hiking. We did not want to do a lot of the tourist things available in Fortuna so being outside of the town was perfect. One can leave the lodge, go to the park, and avoid the town entirely..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hello, great explanation about the Lodge, you were totally right, If you want to be far of all noise, come with us and enjoy here!!! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stopped here on recommendation from Lonely Planet (without a reservation) and were pleasantly surprised that not only did they have a room, but it was a huge triple for $60 including breakfast! The room was basic, as expected, but clean with a huge bathroom and shower. The grounds are beautiful, the main building where you eat is all open and surrounded by beautiful plants, birds, and view of the volcano. The staff was all very pleasant, too. After returning late from a night hike, we could tell the kitchen was about to close, but they stayed open to serve us - all with a smile. And it was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica. My only regret is that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Amazing!! we always like to bring a great service to all our customers, sometimes during low season we give good prices to people that visit us, also in high season with some luck!!!! we loved to have you here as all our clients!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.