We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, comfortable and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Catarata Eco Lodge S.A to your Saves list
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, comfortable and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The accommodations are simple and comfortable. If you are looking for amenities such as television, internet access, fancy furniture - this is an eco-lodge and not what you seek. If you're looking for a comfortable bed, bathroom with shower, clean and well-maintained facility, reasonable cost, and a restaurant with good food, this is an option to consider. The restaurant serves dinner and a good breakfast is included. So the fact that it is a little bit out-of-town does not matter. A bonus is that the staff puts fruit on a tree near the restaurant so that you can watch fantastic birds while enjoying breakfast. The grounds and the setting are gorgeous. The staff is really friendly and helpful.

We stayed for one night so that we could see Arenal and do some hiking. We did not want to do a lot of the tourist things available in Fortuna so being outside of the town was perfect. One can leave the lodge, go to the park, and avoid the town entirely..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Hello, great explanation about the Lodge, you were totally right, If you want to be far of all noise, come with us and enjoy here!!! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stopped here on recommendation from Lonely Planet (without a reservation) and were pleasantly surprised that not only did they have a room, but it was a huge triple for $60 including breakfast! The room was basic, as expected, but clean with a huge bathroom and shower. The grounds are beautiful, the main building where you eat is all open and surrounded by beautiful plants, birds, and view of the volcano. The staff was all very pleasant, too. After returning late from a night hike, we could tell the kitchen was about to close, but they stayed open to serve us - all with a smile. And it was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica. My only regret is that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Amazing!! we always like to bring a great service to all our customers, sometimes during low season we give good prices to people that visit us, also in high season with some luck!!!! we loved to have you here as all our clients!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teens stayed at this lodge for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. The location is great, right at the foot of the volcano, although seeing the volcano depends on your luck (the weather). The lodge has excellent rooms, well spread out in beautifully landscaped garden. I wouldn't call the rooms luxurious but were nice and clean with clean washroom. There is a hammock for each room too.

You can see a lot of exotic birds in and around the lodge itself. The Catarata or Waterfall is about 2 kms away and is a pleasant walk. There is a further trek to the waterfall from the entrance and the whole tour would take half a day.

The owner and the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help out. You can book all the tours and activities from the lodge itself. And it is pretty economical. The food is great too. We had dinner twice at their restaurant, which is quite reasonably priced. Breakfast is free and sumptuous.

Taxi to the town would cost about $6. We rented a car for one day for about $ 85 and drove to the hanging bridges, the National park and around Lake Arenal.

Overall we had a very good experience and I would recommend this Lodge in this price category.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for this review!!! we hold our idea of a Natural Lodge, life inside the forest!!!! as you said we are very close to waterfall and we can help you to do all activities you want in the area!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed there one night and it was enough for us. The staff and in specially the girl at the frontdesk ( who also was our waitress) are very lovely and helpful. Because we wanted to hike early in the morning (6 AM), they made us a breakfast packet what was delicious. The view in het garden is spectacular! This location is good to walk to the waterfall but you are in the wrong place if you want to hike the infamous Celeste Trail like we wanted to do. You still have to drive 35 minutes to arenal observatory lodge where the trail begins. The room and his bathroom was very plain, boring, no colours, absolutely nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
thanks for your review!!! we'll fix this, as we are a simple lodge, maybe we need to do some changes and give some colors to our rooms, we'll see!!!! thanks so much by staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

No safe in the room
Any table or chair in the room
No soap, only one towel per person
Nice garden
We had two separate beds in the rooms
Expansive laundry service (per T-Shirt a US dollar ! better go to the laundry service in town)
WLAN does not reach the cottages
Wooden walls and roof are to dark to allow spotting and hunting mosquitos
Price with 74 USD per double (with breakfast) does not correspond to service provided
Down in the garden a nice place to sit under a roof and have meals
Down in the garden also a dark cage with a single really sad animal
It remained open what the ECO stands for – marketing without ecology?
Near the big waterfall, easy to walk there but cars, horses and buses use the same way you walk.
No shop nearby, you have to go /drive about 1 km to town

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for your review!!!
One year ago we started to fix and remodel all our rooms!!! so now they are most beatiful, about the laudry we keep that price, you can calculate how much you pay to get downtown for you washing!!! :) then we get a good staff to bring you a better service, about the waterfall walk you are right so is a great attractive where everybody want to go!!! and about the sad animal, we have them there, at 2012 were around 5 animals there, maybe the others were hidden, why there because they are in extintion danger, on the 2013 we send those to a forest where they are very happy right now :) thanks so much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the Eco Lodge when we first arrived in Costa Rica, the room was great, clean and suited all our needs. Breakfast was great and the restaurant offered some fantastic dishes something for everyone, swimming pool is excellent with a outstanding backdrop of the volcano my children made the most of it using it everyday of our stay. You can walk to the waterfall which is worth a visit bring your swimming stuff with you as it is so refreshing to swim there. La Fortuna is near by and worth a visit you can get a taxi to and from there and they are reasonably priced. Eco Lodge has great gardens and the view of Arenal Volcano is awesome.I would recommend this place to stay if you are in the area of La Fortuna.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
hello, some years later but here we are replying!!!! thanks for your review!!!! this is what we like, GIVE a great Service!!! we hope more people can read this!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you are looking for a nice and charming eco lodge at Arenal Volcano, you should think about Catarata Ecolodge

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thanks for your review, and for customers, if you want to guess why he said that!! come and discover it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas La Catarata
Cabinas La Catarata
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.