We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catarata Eco-Lodge

Save Saved
You added Catarata Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catarata Eco-Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 km escuela Z-13, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-7, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kortrijk, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed there one night and it was enough for us. The staff and in specially the girl at the frontdesk ( who also was our waitress) are very lovely and helpful. Because we wanted to hike early in the morning (6 AM), they made us a breakfast packet what was delicious. The view in het garden is spectacular! This location is good to walk to the waterfall but you are in the wrong place if you want to hike the infamous Celeste Trail like we wanted to do. You still have to drive 35 minutes to arenal observatory lodge where the trail begins. The room and his bathroom was very plain, boring, no colours, absolutely nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

No safe in the room
Any table or chair in the room
No soap, only one towel per person
Nice garden
We had two separate beds in the rooms
Expansive laundry service (per T-Shirt a US dollar ! better go to the laundry service in town)
WLAN does not reach the cottages
Wooden walls and roof are to dark to allow spotting and hunting mosquitos
Price with 74 USD per double (with breakfast) does not correspond to service provided
Down in the garden a nice place to sit under a roof and have meals
Down in the garden also a dark cage with a single really sad animal
It remained open what the ECO stands for – marketing without ecology?
Near the big waterfall, easy to walk there but cars, horses and buses use the same way you walk.
No shop nearby, you have to go /drive about 1 km to town

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the Eco Lodge when we first arrived in Costa Rica, the room was great, clean and suited all our needs. Breakfast was great and the restaurant offered some fantastic dishes something for everyone, swimming pool is excellent with a outstanding backdrop of the volcano my children made the most of it using it everyday of our stay. You can walk to the waterfall which is worth a visit bring your swimming stuff with you as it is so refreshing to swim there. La Fortuna is near by and worth a visit you can get a taxi to and from there and they are reasonably priced. Eco Lodge has great gardens and the view of Arenal Volcano is awesome.I would recommend this place to stay if you are in the area of La Fortuna.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you are looking for a nice and charming eco lodge at Arenal Volcano, you should think about Catarata Ecolodge

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were really impressed with Catarata Eco-Lodge. The rooms were basic and very clean. It is a small lodge with a family feel. It is a great jump off location to the area's many sites. You can walk to the La Fortuna Waterfall! The view of the volcano from the pool area is next to none. There is also a local swimming hole a couple hundred yards from the property. The grounds are manicured and very impressive. The breakfast is included and it is tico typical. If you are looking for a mid-range place to stay in the area with a volcano view, look no further.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of their rooms. The are the attached cabana type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

What a pleasant surprise, this hotel on the Cherro Chato hillside!

The beautiful garden makes you feel like you're in another world. The swimming pool is nice, clean and relaxing. Laying in your own hammock outside the room makes you forget the fact that the rooms are actually pretty basic and it's sometimes hard to keep the sheets around the matrasses.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant offers various dishes, both local and international.

You do need a car, probably even a 4x4, to reach it. But once you do, you are both away from and close to all the excitement of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Stay far away from any American school class!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

This lodge is right outside La Fortuna. It is close enough to La Fortuna that you can easily reach the town (and all the adventure activities that originate there). Price wasn't bad, we paid $207 for a three night stay in a double. This price included breakfast (pancakes or scrambled eggs, + fruit plate), but we skipped it one day because we hurried out to the Desafio Canyoneering adventure (which serves you a giant lunch at the end) The rooms were quiet (though you can hear a lot of birds!), and each one has a hammock outside. My only complaint with the room is that the light bulbs were so dim (especially in bathroom) that you could barely tell that they had been switched on!

We did not have a chance to use their pool, but saw others swimming in it, and it looked clean. They put fruit out on trees near the restaurant each morning, this attracts a wide variety of colorful birds, it is worthwhile to look for this bird display.

The staff was helpful. We got to La Fortuna long before the allowable check in time, but the lodge allowed us to keep our bags at the front desk so we wouldn't have them in our vehicle while we parked at the zipline tour.

The La Fortuna waterfall is just up the road from the lodge. It is well worth the $10 admission to hike the 500 steps down to see this waterfall.

This lodge had a couple large groups come through while we were there, so be careful to park where you won't get boxed in if a Tourismo bus is also in the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catarata Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco-Lodge

Address: 1 km escuela Z-13, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-7, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco-Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Catarata Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco-Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catarata Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.