We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Oriuma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Oriuma
Save
You added Cabinas Oriuma to your Saves list
La Fortuna, across the park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Fl
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Me and my wife were really surprised at the review of jeannie86. We have been staying at this place every year for 12 years now and, yes, sometimes the front desk is not attended, owners are also the regional Vets, so they sometimes have emergencies. Nonetheless, that seems like a minor inconvenience as well as the lack of English language capabilities.

You always have the option when you see a room to NOT accept it if you do not like it. This is NOT a 4 Star hotel but for the price and location, it is great. Besides the owners are great hosts which will bend over backwards to please you, just ask. Their daughter, available after hours, speaks EXCELLENT English and will point you in the right direction.

As for safety, yes it could be safer but then again so can most others in the town. We have NEVER had ANY problems in or near the hotel at ANY hour of the day.

Bottom line, I still respect her opinion but felt obliged to provide a counter opinion. This is a great economical place to stay and there are very economical places to eat around if you just look or even ask the hotel staff.

SO sorry that she did not like it more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cabinas Oriuma from February 13 - 15, 2012 (2 nights). It is located in the heart of La Fortuna, and you can walk to the nearby restaurants, shops and church. This was great!

However, the hotel itself did not feel the safest. When we arrived, we had to knock on the door to reception and wait because no one was there. The gentleman gave us towels and showed us to our room. There is no area to lounge, and no amenities at this hotel. All we had was a room with a bed, good sized bathroom, and little old TV. The room had a large window that opened onto the hallway. The hallway was a railing pathway that had direct access to the street. I personally felt that there was no purpose of the large window, and it only created a concern for traveler safety. That said, we did not experience any negative or unsafe encounters while in La Fortuna.

We had a great time going on excursions with Desafio Adventure Company (their offices are a short walk from the hotel). We went on an evening hike around the base of the Arenal Volcano, wam in the hot springs, went white water rafting in Rio Balsa and canyoneering in the Lost Canyon. The restaurants nearby were okay but overpriced.

Overall, this hotel was okay for just my husband and I to stay for two nights. However, I would not recommend it to friends, especially families, because it just wasn't that great. You could probably find a better value at a different hotel.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel unless you are traveling solo or not concerned about comfort or &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Oriuma M, Owner at Cabinas Oriuma, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hello Jeannie,

Our location downtown La Fortuna is privileged (“great” like you commented) because is a new building that receives constant maintenance. One of our advantages is the safety, because we are located in the safest neighborhood, in front of the bank, next to the Social Security Office, next to Hotel San Bosco, in a corner position and surrounded by our house, where we give 24 hours vigilance to our customers.

Since you get to the reception of our hotel, you find a roofed reception area for the comfort of the customers if it is raining. The door of the reception has a warning “knock on the door” in case the receptionist is using the toilet or is busy. The reception has a waiting area, comfortable wooden benches, computer with free internet access, and information for all the customers’ needs; the reception where you not even entered.

The room where you stayed (N°16) has a double bed with orthopedic mattress, two bedsides with a lamp, safety box, ceiling fan, air conditioning with remote control to set the desired temperature, clothing hangers for the open closet and “sparkling clean bathroom” like it says in Lonely Planet tourist book. The TV is small but with cable signal and remote control. The door closes only with double-pass key, which is very safe.

We also have a private locked parking for the cars and very close to the room where you stayed we have a balcony with wood tables and chairs, where you can seat and read, write or use the free Wi-Fi to surf the Internet.

The window is big and sealed, it is in direction to the hallway and at the top has lattices with internal bars for the ventilation and safety of the room; the hallway has no direct access to the street; it has access to the roofed reception area, which is private. If the room wouldn’t have a window, it would be like a warehouse; the sense of the window is to give luminosity and good appearance to the room.

The hotel has single, double, triple quadruple and family rooms and our prices are according to the amenities we offer. For example, for the room where you stayed, we charge $40 plus taxes ($45 taxes included), we don’t know the price you paid through Desafio Adventure Company. If you want more amenities, plasma TV and big recreational areas you would not pay $45 but a lot of more.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altmünster
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed two nights in Cabinas Oriuma. Our room no. 20 on the first floor was absolutely clean, convenient room climate, spacious, good working sanitary facilities, ceiling fan, air condition. We appreciated the table and chairs on the broad balcony. The only negative point is the traffic noise due to the central position of Cabinas Oriuma.
Besides of these features, I want to mention the owner Iulica, whose kindness and patience made our stay relaxed and enjoyable.This warmhearted woman dedicated us much of her time, gave helpful information and made us feel like home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had room 18 in the back. The hotel is on one of the corners of the square (park) and across from a disco (open weekends). Being in the back, we heard no disco noise but did have traffic noise (bring earplugs).

We had just come from a less-than-good hotel for the same price and felt this place was world's better. We paid $45/nt (inc taxes but not breakfast) for a room with a double and twin bed, TV w/remote, safe, ceiling fan, a/c, large bath w/glassed-in shower. There is fenced-in parking available.

The place was really clean. The reception people speak minimal English but enough to handle most needs/info. We thought this a great place and a great price, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Oriuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Oriuma

Address: La Fortuna, across the park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Cabinas Oriuma Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Oriuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.