We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed place close to Arenal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vagabondo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed place close to Arenal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Basic room with pleasant service. Stayed there with my sister in a room with A/C and 2 single beds. We had to wait an hour for room on first arriving but the front desk person watched our bags and sent us out to relax in a hammock in the quiet garden courtyard while we waited. Small pool in backyard was a blessing on returning back from outings and we were the only ones who seemed to use it, so good privacy. The location halfway between town and ziplining/hotsprings areas worked well for us. There is a grocery and laundry service very close so no need to walk to town for those amenities. The only time we wished to be in town was when we wanted to rent bikes to cycle around to the lake - they had to be returned downtown but we took a taxi back (little $). The (included) breakfast was good. Not a fancy hotel but well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Vagabondo. It was clean, welcoming and very well priced. Staff was nice and helpful and food was great. It's small and isn't fancy but for that reason, it seemed homey and comfortable. The location was good, kind of mid-distance from a lot of things. Mostly very quiet except for the bar next door. It didn't bother us too much but it might if you had small kids.
Other than that, everything was great and I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

First, the caveat. As other reviews have noted, you are a bit out from town, so unless you have a car or don't mind a healthy walk (that's what we did), you may want something closer to town or in a more inclusive resort sort of place. I'm guessing if you are looking at this review, you don't fall in that latter group. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones because we extended our stay in Arenal) were both great. Comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, hot shower. No complaints. Breakfast was your typical Costa Rican b&b breakfast of eggs, toast, gallo pinto, and fruit. There is a small pool that we never used, but it's nice to have options. This b&b also has a great little gift shop attached to it with a wide variety of products. There is a also a great Italian food / pizza place attached. I really can't comment on anything but the pizza since it was so good we had it twice. I believe the exact one we had was called the Diabolic. If you like spicy and you like pizza, you might have it twice too :) Finally, the staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, a fantastic value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for $43 a night with breakfast included. they serve eggs, toast, fruit, coffee & juice. There's also a souvenier shop at the hotel & a pizzeria and lounge right next door. The receptionist is very nice. The rooms are very comfy, they have heater/AC, TV,safe & hot water for showering. Town is 5 mins away by car, The springs Resort is like 15 mins away, Arenal Volcano is 20 mins away..overall a great place to stay, its a very safe place too. i truly reccomend it. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vankleek Hill, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Vagabondo 1 night and I cannot say anything bad about this place. Since we were going to leave early in the morning, we paid $40 for the room with no breakfast. Jonathan was very nice and helpfull. We had the first room just beside the little patio where we could relax either on the hamac or in the rocking chairs. Room was very clean and service very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011 via mobile

Good value at $40 per night with breakfast .
Jonathon and Errol very helpful employees with good English.
Rooms safe secure but basic.simple rooms not an issue for me as am out touring most of the day.
Pizzeria great but not cheap.
Located two kms out of town.if you don't like walking or don't have a car,maybe Vagabondo is not for you.
Could not get water in room any hotter than tepid!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at the Vagabondo for three nights in February, 2011 and it was perfect for us. It was clean, quiet and at $48 per night with breakfast included, the best value of any of the seven places that we stayed at in Costa Rica in our three week vacation. We were a bit concerned about possible noise from the disco which is at the back of the restaurant but as it turned out, very few people go there and they keep the music way down - we didn't hear anything at all from our room or the pool area (except occasionally someone chopping up wood for the wood burning pizza oven.) Not having a car, we really liked the location - about 800 metres from town and there is a sidewalk for almost all of that distance. We did speak with a few other travellers who stayed at other places right in town and were kept awake by the noise from a festival that was going on. There is a public bus stop at by the grocery store about a hundred metres away and we had a good meal (chicken casada) at the Soda Tipical which is near the grocery store. The grocery was convenient for picking up beer, ice cream cones and other supplies. We were in room #7, around back, by the pool and it was great - we were the only ones at the pool most of the time! The showers in the room worked great once you figured them out - like most showers in Costa Rica, they heat the water on demand with an electrical element - they only have one knob to turn and the more water you turn on, the less hot the water is - so if you want hotter water you adjust its flow. You had a choice of either eggs or a continental style breakfast at the restaurant next door - both were good. We had a pizza at the restaurant one night - very tasty - nice thin crust. One of the best things about Vagabondo is Jonathan (Jonny) the young guy who works at the reception desk in the gift shop and who also served us breakfast. He is a delight! He went out of his way to get us information on the various tours available in the area; let us use the computer in the gift shop; and worked hard to make coffee that was to our liking (we like our coffee somewhat stronger than what is usually served in Costa Rica.) We would definitely stay at the Vagabondo if we are lucky enough to return to the La Fortuna / Arenal area!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vagabondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagabondo

Address: 2 km oeste del parque de la Fortuna | Sobre Carretera al volcan, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Vagabondo Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos and gives us a taste you contact us The rooms have a simple decoration to Italian style, with wooden furniture, feature garden, pool, restaurant and parking Also include Air conditioning or fan, TV, WIFI, safe, private bathroom and shower, plus breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vagabondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagabondo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vagabondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.