We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Eclectic place to people watch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabondo Pizzeria Ristorante

Vagabondo Pizzeria Ristorante
2.5 Kmtrs Del Parque de la Fortuna de San Carlos, Camino Al Volcan | 2.5 Kmtrs Del Parque de la Fortuna de San Carlos, Camino Al Volcan, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00123, Costa Rica
+506 2479 9565
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
austin,tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Eclectic place to people watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Food was great, atmosphere very laid back and good service. Locals sat on the sidewalk and made jewelry near the entrance. Pizza was great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good pizza and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were completely satisfied with our experience at this pizzeria. Since everyone in our family likes something different on their pizza, we want different items on each half of the pizza. The pizzeria had no problem with our requests and the pizza come out surprisingly quick. We would definitely return. Also the restaurat has free WiFi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Works in a pinch when craving pizza, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Lets be real in our discussion. While the pepperoni was authentic Italian and quite tasty, it was sparsely populated on the pie. Sausage is "hot dog", not Italian sausage. Margarita pizza is dried basil, not fresh. Given the place is a wood fired pizzeria one might expect more ingredients to be fresh and traditional in nature. Its not difficult to grow basil in CR nor to make home made sausage.

It was overpriced for the size and quality of ingredients.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to go if you're in the mood for pizza in La Fortuna. The pizza was quite good and their prices were reasonable. I would definitely return. Good house wine (merlot).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
1 review
“VERY NICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had dinner at Pizzeria ristorante Vagabondo the first night we arrived to volcan Arenal. It was a good experience, good solid italian food served in a clean well lighted dining room, had minestrone and pizza for dinner and liked them both. Well worth the money you are charged.
Over all a good place to stay, clean and safe, I truly reccomend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabondo Pizzeria Ristorante also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Vagabondo Pizzeria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabondo Pizzeria Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.