We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
150 meters south of the Catholic Church | Calle 1 & Av Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
24797133
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to eat in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A nice home cook meal when we arrived in Arenal on a rainy sunday afternoon, really good food ate here the first day and the last day before we left... owners and staff was very friendly... food was delicious and the price was very reasonable... lots of locals come here to eat as well, so you know it's good...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    403
    167
    42
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Good, We Ate Here Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When you arrive in Arenal, eat here. We ordered the casado with fish, pork chop, pork cutlet, and chicken during our stay. The food was great and it was as if someone made it in their home and invited us over. Mari, the waitress was very friendly and inviting. I highly recommend the casados with the fruiti mixti drink.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cat and Mouse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended through Tripadvisor and Lonely Planet. However, our experience was far from great.
We waited over 15 minutes to get menus and 45 minutes to receive our food, which when it finally arrived was cold, and the gravy had already congealed. Plus the restaurant was not busy at this time.
To make things worse, at our feet was a cat having a meal of it's own. A MOUSE was hanging partially out of it's mouth. The tail of the mouse was hanging, wagging back and forth from the cats mouth. Where is Chef Ramsey when you need him.
The employees didn't seemed phased and once tried to shoo the cat away, without success. The cat stayed in the restaurant and business went on as if nothing had happened.
We were the stupid ones for not leaving right away. So we will save you the trouble by recommending trying somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely staff and best food so far in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you want to eat real costa-rican food for reasonable prices and you like big portions, then THIS is your place to be! Mary was lovely, took care of everything and had some good advice's! To sum up: we had a really good time at the restaurant! Muuuuuchas gracias de nuevo, we pasaron!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great fun and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went there with the whole family. Great service, lively atmosphere. Even had a local drink a bit like horchata which made a nice change from beer! Good portions for hungry travellers- Enough of the cliches, go there and you won´t be disappointed !!! There is also a good grocery store opposite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Viquez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.