We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
150 meters south of the Catholic Church | Calle 1 & Av Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
24797133
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to eat in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A nice home cook meal when we arrived in Arenal on a rainy sunday afternoon, really good food ate here the first day and the last day before we left... owners and staff was very friendly... food was delicious and the price was very reasonable... lots of locals come here to eat as well, so you know it's good...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Good, We Ate Here Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When you arrive in Arenal, eat here. We ordered the casado with fish, pork chop, pork cutlet, and chicken during our stay. The food was great and it was as if someone made it in their home and invited us over. Mari, the waitress was very friendly and inviting. I highly recommend the casados with the fruiti mixti drink.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
“Cat and Mouse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended through Tripadvisor and Lonely Planet. However, our experience was far from great.
We waited over 15 minutes to get menus and 45 minutes to receive our food, which when it finally arrived was cold, and the gravy had already congealed. Plus the restaurant was not busy at this time.
To make things worse, at our feet was a cat having a meal of it's own. A MOUSE was hanging partially out of it's mouth. The tail of the mouse was hanging, wagging back and forth from the cats mouth. Where is Chef Ramsey when you need him.
The employees didn't seemed phased and once tried to shoo the cat away, without success. The cat stayed in the restaurant and business went on as if nothing had happened.
We were the stupid ones for not leaving right away. So we will save you the trouble by recommending trying somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely staff and best food so far in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you want to eat real costa-rican food for reasonable prices and you like big portions, then THIS is your place to be! Mary was lovely, took care of everything and had some good advice's! To sum up: we had a really good time at the restaurant! Muuuuuchas gracias de nuevo, we pasaron!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelie2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great fun and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went there with the whole family. Great service, lively atmosphere. Even had a local drink a bit like horchata which made a nice change from beer! Good portions for hungry travellers- Enough of the cliches, go there and you won´t be disappointed !!! There is also a good grocery store opposite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GibboSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing