We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave your resort and enjoy an authentic meal that is twice as good for a fraction of the cost.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
150 meters south of the Catholic Church | Calle 1 & Av Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
24797133
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
2 reviews
“Leave your resort and enjoy an authentic meal that is twice as good for a fraction of the cost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We LOVED this place. The food was delicious, with huge plates (I didn't finish mine) but what really makes me want to return is the service. Mari made us feel like family. She really went above and beyond for us and made our experience memorable. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    403
    168
    42
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why pay more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great vegetarian options, such as the vegetarian sandwich or the casado. Extremely fresh fish, huge delicious portions. This was our go to lunch spot. The casados were great and all the fresh fruit shakes were out of this world. Friendly service in an open air restaurant where it's common to see many other world travelers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I had the filet minion which was both delicious and huge! The best part was the service! The waitress remembered our names, I could probably count on one hand how many times that has happened. The service was quick but didn't feel rushed. She even gave us a dish of rice pudding after our meal, as with everything else it was delicious. Definitely would recommend this place to others!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently returned from a 2 week trip travelling around Costa Rica and our meal here was the best meal we had during our trip for quality and value for money. Unfortunately we visited on our last evening in La Fortuna as otherwise we would have certainly returned if we were staying for longer. During the rest of our Costa Rica trip we searched for comparable Costa Rican food but to no avail. Would highly recommend for price, quality and authenticity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great local food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to Soda Viquez based upon the tripadvisor's top restaurants in La Fortuna and it didn't disappoint! The host/waitress Maria was absolutely fabulous. She was fun, welcoming, helpful and right on with her food suggestions. The coconut - pineapple drink was delicious and the shrimp and rice dinner was scrumptious! The food was great and very reasonably priced! Made for a fun night in La Fortuna. Thanks tripadvisor!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Viquez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.