We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay more?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
150 meters south of the Catholic Church | Calle 1 & Av Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
24797133
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why pay more?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great vegetarian options, such as the vegetarian sandwich or the casado. Extremely fresh fish, huge delicious portions. This was our go to lunch spot. The casados were great and all the fresh fruit shakes were out of this world. Friendly service in an open air restaurant where it's common to see many other world travelers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    296
    79
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I had the filet minion which was both delicious and huge! The best part was the service! The waitress remembered our names, I could probably count on one hand how many times that has happened. The service was quick but didn't feel rushed. She even gave us a dish of rice pudding after our meal, as with everything else it was delicious. Definitely would recommend this place to others!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently returned from a 2 week trip travelling around Costa Rica and our meal here was the best meal we had during our trip for quality and value for money. Unfortunately we visited on our last evening in La Fortuna as otherwise we would have certainly returned if we were staying for longer. During the rest of our Costa Rica trip we searched for comparable Costa Rican food but to no avail. Would highly recommend for price, quality and authenticity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to Soda Viquez based upon the tripadvisor's top restaurants in La Fortuna and it didn't disappoint! The host/waitress Maria was absolutely fabulous. She was fun, welcoming, helpful and right on with her food suggestions. The coconut - pineapple drink was delicious and the shrimp and rice dinner was scrumptious! The food was great and very reasonably priced! Made for a fun night in La Fortuna. Thanks tripadvisor!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wow! This place was a seven stars restaurant service! Quick service, food was great and traditional. Number one place recommended by locals and also best affordable place in town . The owner and servers greet you with such a welcome feeling. You must try their traditional fruit juices ( my favorite- coconut and pineapple). We came from traveling Dubai and Europe; this restaurant by far was the best experience! Highly recommendable!

Jesus & Sara.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Viquez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.