We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tour from the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari River Floating & Don Pedro's Farm Tour

Safari River Floating & Don Pedro's Farm Tour
| Sunset Tours, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
866-417-7352
Website
Improve this listing
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tour from the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our guides, Jose and Oscar, were very knowledgeable of the area and great at spotting the wildlife along the river. Both spoke English very well so could share lots of information. It is a gentle ride down the river,there is lots of time to look for animals and birds. We had the good fortune to see both Howler and White Throated monkeys as well as many different birds. The tour ended with a wonderful coffee and snack at the farmer's home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice, good guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this tour based on having my age 5 son. We wanted something safe. As such, it was but a little on the boring side for the adults. They also gave us each a bottle of water, thank you. PFDs for all and required we where them and they checked to make sure they were on correctly.

Water was very low and often the guide had to get out to pull us through the low areas.

We did see lots of howler monkeys, bats, lizards, and tilapia. Locals spear fishing and many birds.

The guide provide a lot of history about the river, Costa Rica in general and all types of info on the animals, birds, plants and trees we saw. He was very informative.

We ended our float at a farm for juice or coffee, plantains, fruit and cheese and some type of fruit bread. All was good. There is no tour of the farm so don't expect that.

A quick ride back to town and that's about it. Lasts about 2-2 1/2 hours.

It was good for our needs with a child. Also recommend booking in town vs hotel or a big name company. We used anywhere Costa Rica and it was more than the tour operator in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great boat ride!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a relaxing way to see Costa Rica. Great alternative for those not wishing to do white-water rafting. Excellent, knowledgeable guide whose English was very good. Finishing the tour at the farm with snacks was an awesome way to end it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most excellent adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a wonderful way to see Costa Rica's beautiful country.
Visit with 101 y.o. Don Pedro was super interesting. Can YOU imagine living in the same house for 80 years WITHOUT electricity?
Saw lots of wildlife. Guide was VERY knowledgeable and his English was terrific.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great trip down the river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first place we really went in Arenal. Our tour guide was fabulous and we saw many animals, birds, etc. The stop at the farm and meeting Don Pedro was also really great! Great for families!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari River Floating & Don Pedro's Farm Tour also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Safari River Floating & Don Pedro's Farm Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari River Floating & Don Pedro's Farm Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.