We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch in Fortuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Calle 5, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9192
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing lunch in Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We hiked Cerro Chato and were absolutely famished, so we looked on Trip Advisor for a great lunch spot and found it. The ceviche, hearts of palm salad, side of fries and sea bass with mushroom sauce was plenty for two to share. With 2 glasses of wine we spent less than $40 USD! Very happy with this place, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    152
    115
    56
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it at all!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were recommended to Nene's by one of the local taxi drivers and staff at our hotel. When we arrived, the waiter we had was terrible. He looked absolutely annoyed, never told us any specials or his name and walked around with "a chip on his shoulder." The couple next to us were from South Carolina and had already ordered their entrees. After we ordered our drinks and a small appetizer, they told us not to order dinner and go somewhere else. The food was just ok, but they also said the waiter was horrible and made the experience not worth the money at all! Would not recommend unless there was maybe a different waiter. Other reviewers had complained about the owner's son, this might have been him, but we did not know.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in LaFortuna area for 4 days and had dinner every night in town. We surveyed people at our hotel as well as many locals and we were directed to Nene's. The location is on a small alley and we would not have found it without our trusty driver Marcos. My wife and I had specials (whole fish steamed with vegetable, Sirloin steak grilled in a great sauce) and everything was so very fresh and tasty. My daughter had a non-descript pasta dish but said it was good. Our portions were large and we shared evrything around the table. We had learned the night before that portions in local restaurants were larger than normal and not to order apps/soup/etc. if ordering main dishes. Drinks were cheap and we enjoyed this meal immensely....I would return here in a minute.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as authentic as others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here with a tour group. Food was good, but a lot pricier than other options in town. It seems they cater more to tourists than locals. Overall it was ok, but I would suggest looking elsewhere for more authentic fare.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simple, lovely and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friendly service, good food that everybody in the family enjoyed, nice ambiance, very very good ceviche, in an un-presumptuous local.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nene's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.