We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy & Reasonable Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lounge Bar & Grill

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479.7365
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy & Reasonable Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had lunch here and the food and drinks were very good. I especially enjoyed a very tasty Bloody Mary. The restaurant is located in town on the main drag and is open-air. The view of the volcano is incredible and the staff is friendly. We met the owner who is an animal lover and is very involved in rescuing strays and finding them good homes (big problem in Costa Rica). Kudos to him!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    290
    157
    59
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun place and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ate at the Lava Lounge twice in two days during our stay at La Fortuna.The ambiance is fun and friendly.The food was very delicious.The drinks are cold and this place is enjoyable for everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Right atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

So one thing that was clear when eating in Costa Rica was that the locals lack the experience of creating an inviting dining atmosphere. There was rarely if ever music playing and the servers were all business and a bit stiff so going to the Lava Lounge it is immediately apparent that this place is owned by an American. The food was not bad but also not THE BEST ever either what really stood out was the lighting, the reggae music and the servers swirling around refilling drinks and checking on the customers.

The menu was very American with a beachy feel to it which worked perfect for our picky eaters in the group, the drinks were tasty and while it was not the cheapest meal in CR it was worth it overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, easy to find, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived shortly after they opened and we were the only ones there. There were a few things on the menu that weren't available, but we didn't mind as they told us up front. We were admiring some of the souvenirs on the walls, particularly a cool coffee bean bag that we'd see all over the country. We asked them about it and although they weren't selling theirs, they did give us a little one free of charge! The food was good, and we enjoyed the Te Frio (best kind of ice tea ever!) and some wraps. A great little stop on the way through town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“costa Rica 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to eat with great service and delicious food and good value for the price. Service was fast and efficient and correct. Loved the sidewalk service

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lounge Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.