We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Lunch or Dinner Lava Lounge has good sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lounge Bar & Grill

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479.7365
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“For Lunch or Dinner Lava Lounge has good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have stopped here at this restaurant 2 or 3 times when visiting Arenal Vocano each time we order something different. My wife had a wrap last time and it was very good. It's not where the locals eat but you will not go wrong stopping here for lunch or dinner. Service is good they speak English and La Fortuna is a tourist spot so you will pay more for everything. We live in Costa Rica and most of the time eat at the local sodas or restaurants that only have their menus in Spanish. But when our friends from the USA visit and we go to Arenal this a good choice for food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    299
    160
    59
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stuckintx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“lunch anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate here last week while in La Fortuna one afternoon. The food was incredible. We had nachos, pizza and fried yucca all were amazing. Pina Coladas are to die for. great place, great service, fabulous food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeckoGourmet, Public Relations Manager at Lava Lounge Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi!!
We are really happy to know you enjoy the experience at Lava Lounge. Thanks for your nice comments, and we really hope to have you back at Lava!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant is AMAZING! One of the greatest meals we had in Costa Rica!
Outside, there are street vendors offering bracelets and jewelries, and highly recommend to stop by!
They have a very large menu with different kinds of dishes. The service is very warm.
They're dog-friendly, but they keep them away from the tables so you're not really bothered by them. I saw two dogs walking around but they were well-educated. It might be something to consider if you're afraid of dogs, though.
They have a foundation for stray dogs and I was glad to help a little bit with a donation.
The atmosphere is really welcoming and it's well decorated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and neat atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place had a great atmosphere and the food was good too. Prices seemed average for the area, and the service wasn't horrible but wasn't the greatest either. We noticed that almost everyone there seemed to be tourists. It didn't bother us, but if you're wanting more "local" place, then this isn't your best bet. It definitely seemed to be more geared to foreign tourists.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place drew us in by its' appealing lights and decor, and we were glad to have stopped in. The food was very "North American" with some local choices as well, the portions were big, and the taste was terrific. If you are looking for a family restaurant with good food and no fuss, this is it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lounge Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.