We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for a quick drink, stayed the whole evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lounge Bar & Grill

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479.7365
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
dylangmurphy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stopped for a quick drink, stayed the whole evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stopped in here for a quick drink while figuring out the lie of the land in La Fortuna, ended up staying for dinner and many drinks.

The food is mostly mexican themed, simple and good quality - a nice break from mundane Costa Rican cuisine.

Lava Lounge is probably the best bar in La Fortuna, it has a really good atmosphere, good food and drinks. Recommend the mojito (long on lime and rum) and the crazy monkey (probably best as a dessert, quite heavy)

I think there's live music on Wednesdays and Sundays but we weren't there for this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    298
    159
    59
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food but a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good food and good sangria, nice place to sit and relax and talk to friends. A little bit expensive, but hey, it's Costa Rica, everything is expensive...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I ventured in one evening for dinner. We just left another establishment for high prices and lack of "character" to sum it up. We didn't feel like spending 5 star hotel prices for mediocre food - especially after eating at the other places during our vacation that blew our minds away at fractions of the cost. We walked in Lava Lounge because we liked the atmosphere and grew tired of searching for a new place to eat. Unfortunately we weren't impressed and only ordered out of exhaustion.

The menu was simple and limited. I was impressed with the frozen drink menu but the prices were the same as our hotel's ($7 avg). Unless you wanted fajitas or arroz y pollo - you were out of luck for a local dish. The prices were similar to a traditional U.S. bar menu more so than a restaurant.

We shared nachos, I had beef/chicken fajitas, she had a chicken sandwich. We both had a frozen drink, mine being a dirty monkey (I believe - coconut rum, banana liquor, and coffee liquor) which was too strong for my liking. We also split a brownie a la mode (basic ice cream on a basic brownie). All of which ran us around $75. Compared to $30-$40 at other restaurants for better portions and menu options, we should've went to a finer dining establishment (Don Rufinos or similar) for that much money or stayed at our hotel.

To help clarify, we're not cheap nor picky. We chose Lava Lounge based on a few of the reviews, the atmosphere, and location. We simply weren't impressed and felt disappointed. I do hope others enjoy what they have to offer - just not our cup o' tea.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bar scene”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place is okay for young couples or singles. Not recommended for families. The food is very average and service is slow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solid option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very good option for tourists. Food was good, drinks were good, prices were good. We went for lunch but I'll bet it's a lot more fun at night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lounge Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.