We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hamburger I've ever had!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lounge Bar & Grill

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479.7365
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Best hamburger I've ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We wandered in to this place by chance and I had the best hamburger of my life! It was delicious. The rest of the plate was also very good. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    299
    159
    59
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stumbled across this place when driving through the town, kinda hard not to miss it since its one of the only attractive places on the strip....(we tried every other place , and they sucked) so we dropped in for lunch and were immediately addicted, we had quesadillas and a steak burrito... To die for!!!! Excellent value and size, a bit pricy but its in the heart of a touristy place so it's expected...service was not that great, but I found that when they recognized us the next day they were extremely friendly which is always nice to be know as a "regular"

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best wrap ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had the ginger chicken wrap ( don't remember the actual name). It was a very tasty and big. It's not the cheapest place in town, but it is worth a stop. It's pretty fun and the food is good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow what a busy place! I can see why it's the hotspot of La Fortuna. On a Sunday night, this place was full with a line up at the door. Food was tasty and very reasonable priced. I loved that the restaurant had a lounge cat named Caesar. The manager was very attentive to all the guests.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comeagua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No credit cards yet - good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great place to sit near the sidewalk and see the people traffic come and go. Dogs are free to come and go as they please as it's an open air place (as are most places here) and they are all friendly and most don't beg. Pizza was great, drinks were good, manager was American and would have worked with us once we found out they didn't take credit cards. I believe he said they were still getting it up and running. The atmosphere/decorating was fantastic, just a fun place to visit and see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lounge Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.