We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food, ambiance and the dogs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Lounge Bar & Grill

Lava Lounge Bar & Grill
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479.7365
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the food, ambiance and the dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I want everyone to know that this restaurant not only has amazing, consistent food, but also they help the street dogs. That is something I did not see at all at any other restaurant in this country. The food was absolutely amazing, went back every night we were in La Fortuna. And the dogs that the owner Scott helps makes it that much more soulful of a place to be, and eat...thank you everyone at Lava Lounge!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    340
    186
    67
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Watch out and pay attention...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Initially we thought it was a really cool place. It is a cool place but you have to watch out for the people who work there. On our first night there we loved the ambiance, cool music etc... But there was a drunk lady complaining about her change. We thought she was drunk but she was right, they tried to take advantage of her and she wasn't drunk enough, she caught them trying to keep some of her money. Wouldnt you have it our waiter who was also the bartender tried the same thing to us. I managed to get him to give us the correct change after a few words. Either way we came back the next day. Had good margaritas. Came back that night and the same bartender tried giving us margaritas with no alcohol in them. I went to him and asked about it and he quickly put some tequila in them. Not much but he was nervous. Then when we paid the bill $12.00 he took my $20.00 and never returned. I went to the manager and after a few words got our change. Too much hassle, we were on vacation and didn't want to be constantly making sure we had alcohol in our drinks and over paying and getting no change Back. They reminded me of druggies who were trying to screw over the customers so they could get wasted later.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“volcano view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good food, laid back atmosphere, view of the volcanos. What more could you ask for? We were a group of 8. All tried different meals. All were good and plentiful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Intimate and laid-back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I totally recommend their coconut shrimp and tuna steak. They were really tasty! Love the ambiance with the lights and reggae music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great food and drinks! Great value and prices! Open air restaurant in the heart of downtown La Fortuna.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Lounge Bar & Grill also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Lounge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Lounge Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.