We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Main Avenue, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9997
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
nebraska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great service and great food! They take reservations and you should call ahead as they get very busy. But, they went out of their way to work our party of six in with no notice.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    281
    117
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expensive compared to others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very good food with average sized portions however this restaurant is quite expensive compared to others in CR.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food, good prices, ok view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Another Costa Rica traveler recommended we eat at Don Ruffino's. We had a late lunch there and enjoyed the food. We sat near an opening where we could see the clouds on top of Arenal (not a great view, but better than a wall). The prices were great compared to the resorts where we stayed. Rest rooms were clean.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stale reputation?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Was hoping for a good meal based on reviews here, but the restaurant couldn't have cared less about us. They seem to attract very large groups, which is maybe why they don't seem to care about the food quality or service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our meals were very good, but it was a bit pricey, especially for Costa Rica! Also, the food was nothing unique and tasted like anything you could get in the States, so we were disappointed with that aspect. The service was friendly, however was pretty slow.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Rufino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.