We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and very busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Main Avenue, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9997
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Shamong, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good and very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had the pleasure of eating here for Valentine's Day as my husband made reservation befrore coming to Costa Rica. We both had the ribeye steak. To die for !!! Both were done to perfection. Quick service and clean restaurant. Didn't think it was expensive either. Not for edible food. Lol

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    522
    254
    99
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The restaurant to go to in La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

La Fortuna was quiet at night, except for the bustling crowded Don Rufino. Make a reservation! Interesting choices of food; not your typical rice and beans. I had "Grandma's chicken" which was difficult to eat. It is wrapped in banana leaves and then in aluminum foil and baked in a great mole type sauce. It was hard to see what you were eating with all the sauce and therefore difficult to separate the chicken from the bones; it was really good and flavorful but you had to work at getting a bite! It came with veggies and whipped potatoes (?)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best meal in La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was the best meal we had in the Arenal area other than a home cooked lunch we had made for us by a local family on their farm.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food! Especially after a full day of hiking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went to Don Rufino after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were lucky to get a table because we did not make a reservation and it gets crowded very fast! Not a surprise as the food was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend had the grandma steak (or something like this) and I had a risotto, we both really enjoyed our meal. Price was also reasonable for the quality of the food, 60$ for two persons, including appetizer, main course and non-alcoholic drinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Amazing cocktails. A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Really great food here. Really great cocktails here. Pretty good service as well. So what's not to like. Book ahead if you want to go at night time or try your luck during the day and watch the day go by in the small town of La Fortuna.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Rufino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.