We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Main Avenue, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9997
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Contemporary, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

definitely ny prices in la fortuna but then again if you are on vacation why not come here for at least one nite... actually we visited this place twice and both times the food was really good... definitely worth one trip here...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    321
    127
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yum but not fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Don Rufino on 8/18/13. We had the ceviche appetizer (very yummy, I asked for sliced fresh jalepenos, they added extra crunch and spice), grandma's chicken (yummy idea and good glaze but a little dry) and the filet wrapped in bacon (yum, ordered med rare and delivered about med rare). The prices were on par with our hotel restaurant as was the quality. I would say not fantastic but ok. If we came back to Costa Rica we'd try Benedictus first if they were open, if not then maybe we'd come back here. A solid 3.5

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great restraunt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Came here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and I was impressed overall by their food and staff. My boyfriend ordered a churrasco (didn't have much condiment, making the taste a bit bland,) but the risotto I ordered was incredible!!. We then ordered postres which were excellent and the staff was so kind enough to bring a birthday postre and sing Feliz Cumpleanos to my bf! We will definitely come back to this restaurant again when vacationing in Arenal and look forward to try the rest of their dishes.

I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant in Arenal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but Exc!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Is very expensive but the meals served there are top deal. Very good service and food, if you want to spend some bucks in good food must go there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Service was fabulous linen table cloths and food was great. It is pricey but affordable and was the best meal we had in la fortuna.
I would return to eat there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Rufino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.