We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Main Avenue, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9997
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

definitely ny prices in la fortuna but then again if you are on vacation why not come here for at least one nite... actually we visited this place twice and both times the food was really good... definitely worth one trip here...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    522
    254
    99
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum but not fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Don Rufino on 8/18/13. We had the ceviche appetizer (very yummy, I asked for sliced fresh jalepenos, they added extra crunch and spice), grandma's chicken (yummy idea and good glaze but a little dry) and the filet wrapped in bacon (yum, ordered med rare and delivered about med rare). The prices were on par with our hotel restaurant as was the quality. I would say not fantastic but ok. If we came back to Costa Rica we'd try Benedictus first if they were open, if not then maybe we'd come back here. A solid 3.5

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great restraunt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Came here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and I was impressed overall by their food and staff. My boyfriend ordered a churrasco (didn't have much condiment, making the taste a bit bland,) but the risotto I ordered was incredible!!. We then ordered postres which were excellent and the staff was so kind enough to bring a birthday postre and sing Feliz Cumpleanos to my bf! We will definitely come back to this restaurant again when vacationing in Arenal and look forward to try the rest of their dishes.

I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant in Arenal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but Exc!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Is very expensive but the meals served there are top deal. Very good service and food, if you want to spend some bucks in good food must go there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Service was fabulous linen table cloths and food was great. It is pricey but affordable and was the best meal we had in la fortuna.
I would return to eat there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Rufino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.