We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Main Avenue, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
2479-9997
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $65
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Contemporary, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Winchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great gourmet meal. Well worth the price. We tried 10 different items and were not disappointed by one of them. Stand out items included the ceviche, gazpacho, prosciutto, grilled peach arugula salad, coconut seafood soup.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    321
    127
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't leave La Fortuna without eating here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our cab driver recommended this restaurant, we went and had lunch. The tuna is to die for try the tuna tar tar, excellent. We also tried the ceviche it was great too. The service is impeccable, especially compared to our resort the Springs at Arenal. We decided to go back for dinner the following day. Once again we were not disappointed in the least. The atmosphere is quiet, beautiful and calming. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Located on the Main Street, don Rufino offers great food. It is a bit pricey but worth it! Service is great! Waiters are polite and the restaurant is nice. If you want sit outside the bar and have a beer I would recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved this place. It is popular so reservations are recommended or could be a long wait or may not get in that evening. Food is very good and large portions. Presentations are fabulous. Can be a bit pricy but worth the price. Located just down from the park along he main road thru town in La Fortuna.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wowsers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The pasta marineri is the best I've had anywhere in the world. Beautiful restaurant, excellent service and fantastic food - great place for a special dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Rufino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.