We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4400, Costa Rica
+506 2475 9121
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Proyecto Asis like an insider
$29*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a wonderful place. Carlos you are amazing. Very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. The relationship that he has with the rescued animals is amazing. You can feel the love going both ways when he walks through the compound. Feeding the baby white face monkeys was the highlight of our trip. Adriana is phenomenal, spotting sloths and explaining their mission, she is a great ambassador. BEST 1/2 DAY OF OUR WHOLE TRIP

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProyectoAsisCR, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi janbunsk,
We appreciate your willingness to visiting. It was very important to have you as part of the tour. I am confident that good things will come from people interested in preserving the nature.
Thank you for sharing the experience. Adriana was really glad to read this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    67
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful morning here, volunteering to help feed the animals. We had a great welcome from Adriana, and Carlos was our guide. It was obvious how much he cared for the animals, and gave us lots of information. It is nice to know that those animals that can be returned to the wild are, and those that can't have a safe home here. Feeding time was a treat, and we fed young white faced monkeys, parrots, toucan, coati, Perla the pig and others. This was a special day for us, and thanks to everyone involved.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi janbunsk,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and describe the activity of the tour/volunteering.
We really appreciate your support shown when visiting and now by commenting about your visit.
Welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had an incredible time at proyecto asis. We heard about it from another couple and we unsure what to expect. We were very happy we decided to go. It was by far one of the highlights of our trip. Carlos was a great guide, very knowledgeable, very kind, and you could tell he really cared about the animals and loved his job. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who is visiting anywhere close to La Fortuna.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi James,

We loved your story. This happens a lot. It is great that you were able to come. The best of all is the fact that you interact with animals, learn about them and their situations; and of course the fact that you supported them. In behalf of the animals, we thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST Part of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I literally could not wait to tell everyone I know about this experience. What a rare treat to hold and feed baby capuchin monkeys, parrots and a boa. We did the tour, which was really interesting and actually very thought-provoking to learn how the animals came to be in the rescue center and how humans are endangering these species. The animals are really active and enjoy interacting with the guide -- and us. Definitely do the volunteer experience -- it was amazing! We walked right into the baby capuchin cage and they climbed all over us to get the food we were holding. It was something we'll always remember and like nothing we've ever done!

Getting there was not difficult. We took the public bus for $4 RT -- a taxi would have been $100 RT from La Fortuna. The bus took 35-40 minutes each way, but it really was worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi katebly,

Reading this has really touched our hearts. We are thrilled to know your visit here was the ''BEST part of your Trip''.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we love to read them and know about how the activity was. Thank you for supporting Proyecto Asis. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Monkey Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Holding and feeding baby monkeys, hand feeding a toucan, learning about the sanctuary and its work to help injured, surrendered, and abandoned animals... Wonderful! We were able to book round trip transportation from Nayara through Proyecto. They made everything so easy. Another couple took a taxi from our hotel and paid the same as we did for our private transportation! Once in a lifetime experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asisproject, Front Office Manager at Proyecto Asis, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi TheWashingtons,

We are so glad to know you have considered the activity as a ''once in a lifetime experience''.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we love to read them and know about how the activity was. Thank you for supporting the Costa Rican wildlife through your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proyecto Asis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.