We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You, Carlos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proyecto Asis

Proyecto Asis
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4400, Costa Rica
+506 2475 9121
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Previous Reservation is required. Proyecto Asis is a Wildlife Shelter and Environmental Education Center located very close to La Fortuna. Wild animals which have been found wounded, forsaken or are rescued from the black market by the local forest rangers are brought here. Those that cannot be released are used within our educational programs. In order to finance our shelter, we offer daily tours and volunteer activities. Schedules: Monday to Saturday at 8:30 am or at 1:00 pm. Sundays Closed. Easy access facilities and trails for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank You, Carlos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Proyecto Asis in mid-December. Our hotel receptions recommended it to us and we are so thankful. Our tour guide, Carlos, was outstanding. He is very passionate about working with the animals and he also has a great sense of humor- we were very entertained! He even offered to take photos of us with the animals and was very helpful. We got to see all of the animals, made Coffee, and then got to feed the animals. It was an unforgettable experience! Highly recommend!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    51
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Fun Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a great day at Proyecto Asis! We took a tour of the compound with our knowledgable guide and learned all about the animals. Then we prepared food and got to feed it to the Kinkachu, birds, and monkeys, among others. Our kids were very jet lagged on this day, but I am so glad we did it but they LOVED it! Where else can you feed spider and capuchin monkeys by hand?!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our guide was very out going and knowledgable. The work done here is very meaningful. Our experience was wonderful. I would put this as a must do for any animal lovers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

A bit off the beaten path, but proyecto Asis was worth the trip. Small venue, but the guides and the animals were awesome. Did the half day visit and our family learned a lot, at the end made food for the animals and hand fed many. Learned a lot about the animals of Costa Rica and more Importantly on how they should be treated. Great time great learning experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Zookeepers for half a day - petted a sloth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were zookeepers for half a day and got to feed all the animals. A monkey fell in love with my husband and kept wrapping her tail around his neck. The program director was very knowledgeable and wonderful with our kids. We got to pet a pig, hold a sloth and learned a lot about local wildlife and preservation efforts.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proyecto Asis also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Proyecto Asis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proyecto Asis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.