We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
400 meters west of the church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479-7063
Website
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Its outside seating. Pretty extensive menu with lots of choices. It was recommended to us by one of the locals. Good service and good food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    176
    199
    82
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped by La Choza de Laurel after an afternoon of shopping and walking around in La Fortuna. The restaurant is on the north end of the main strip next to burger king and it seems to be a hotspot for locals and tourists. When we arrived there were a busload of people dining there. We werent really sure about the place but decided to have lunch there. Their manu was great they have a mix of foods, pastas, chicken, sea food and more. Me and my wife requested our new favorite Arroz Pollo (Rice Chicken), I think thats what they call it. and the kids ordered pasta. The food came fresh out of the kitchen in a few minutes. The service was fast and food was fresh.
I would definitely dine here again and would highly recommend this restaurant to others venturing out in La Fortuna.
Happy Dining!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good quality food. Great value. Nice casual atmosphere. Loved the open air dining area. My wife had the best steak of our entire stay in Costa Rica. High quality cut, cooked very nicely. While wait staff was obliging and evidently busy, the wait for service was generally long. The ceviche I had, along with the "Olla de Carne" stew (similar to Sancocho) were savory and filling. The batidos were an excellent dessert.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat after zip lining in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Authentic Costa Rican cuisine with excellent service, I could eat their arroz con pollo everyday! Delicious

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When asked for a good place to eat, Flora from the Volcano Lodge recommended La Choza as her favorite. It was awesome!!! Not only was the food delicious and authentic, the presentation was amazing. We were back twice during our short stay. Check out the piña coladas too...they come in a hand-carved pineapple that looks like Mr. Potato Head. It was honestly one of the coolest things I've seen. Again, phenomenal food! Wish we lived closer :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Choza de Laurel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added La Choza de Laurel to your Saves list