We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristic restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Choza de Laurel

La Choza de Laurel
400 meters west of the church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
(506) 2479-7063
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Touristic restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It smells very good when you get here. Meats are cooked on the grill and they are very good. Drinks are also lots of fun with the little paper umbrella. The waitresses are dressed in traditional attire. It's very cute but some will find this «too cute». Service was okay, the prices a little high but overall we had a good time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    241
    108
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A wonderful and most accomodating staff of waiters and
waitresses, located right in the heart of La Fortuna close to
everything and a wonderful extensive menu.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place was literally the only time I actually contemplated a dine-n-dash. Pitiful drinks (a half shot of alcohol masked by 16 oz of fruit juice) for only $10-12! I live in San Francisco. I am happy to pay this amount for a decent drink. These were little more than fruit juice. We switched to beer (the beauty of a beer is, you get you actually ordered!).

Server was nice, when available. And by that I mean, once your food is delivered, adios. Could not find anyone who cared about the undercooked chicken (which is actually pretty deadly). Even so, wanted to cut our losses, yet couldn't find a server willing to take our money. Walked up to a counter, where there were a bunch of checks/cards. Despite being the only people there in person, the cashier never acknowledged our existence, despite asking if we could just pay and go.

I've never wanted to dine n' dash so bad. Insanely overpriced food (I say this coming from SF; their food is crap but they charge our prices) very mediocre service. NEVER spend your hard earned dollars here. You're just another overpaid tourist at this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch after Rafting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had lunch after a river raft (3-4 level rapids) with Desafio Tours. The lunch at La Choza was great. Nice folks too!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great "Typico" Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for some good authentic Costa Rican food, this place is really good. Its also in the middle of town, so its a good spot to stop in while you're exploring La Fortuna.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza de Laurel also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Choza de Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Choza de Laurel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.