We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lavas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Marco Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel Lavas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed at Lavas 5 or 6 times and have always enjoyed my stay. Nice clean rooms, good food, and good service. Wi Fi everywhere on the property. Cable TV is very good too.
I like the fact that the hotel is not downtown but rather remote, quiet and peaceful. The babbling brook at the back of the property, with a bottle of wine and a good company make for outstanding evenings. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time how many in your party and what your needs are. They have accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    54
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
95
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The worse part: we had a tour included in our reservation (already paid) and we presumed somebody would pick us up at the hostel, as usual, but no. We were suposed to go by ourselves to the place and nobody told us about it, so we missed the tour! And friendly he gave us the option of going walking (15km).

The hotel was far way from La Fortuna town, we spent about 10 dollars (one way) in taxi (you have great and cheap options in town). The room was small but good enough, there were a microwave and a small frigde and a cable tv. But the microwave didin't work properly and the shower was very bad, it turned itself off and got cold. The swimingpool was SO DURTY.

The only good think was the meals, we had lunch and breakfast included and I was very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently visited Costa Rica and stayed at your hotel (May 16-18). The purpose of my message is to commend you for the staff at the hotel. First of all, the place is so cute, comfortable and attractive, and it's in a good location. The rooms are clean and provide basic comforts. It was helpful to rent a car so we could drive to La Fortuna in order to eat and shop. I was glad I didn't stay in a hotel in town. The hotel offered a visit to the nearby waterfalls which is a breathtaking site you don't want to miss.

I would like to thank the staff: Bernie, Monica, Yerlie, and Virgilio for being so nice and making us feel so welcome. I told Yerlie I wish I could take her home with me!


Fort Worth, TX

Room Tip: Second floor room is more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Mario, the owner was extremely helpful in setting up our itinerary.I went on line first and picked out what I wanted to do and he scheduled it with discounts. We did rent a car, which I highly recommend, since you are somewhat remote at this hotel. Everything was clean and simple. Pool was cute. At night, you share the pool with the local frogs. We stayed 6 nights and breakfast was the same every morning. The only unfortunate thing was that the owner, Mario, was in the States at the time of our stay and Monica and Benny were running the show. They speak little English so bring your Smartphone translator. THis is definitely not a resort but the Groupon price was right.

Room Tip: It gets dark at 5:30 pm and there is no night life/action nearby so bring something to occupy yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Upon arrival there was no one at reception. The office was dark and locked. We had to search for someone and a found a very young gal who's English was extremely limited. Thank God for google translate.
The owner, Mario, was living it up in Florida riding on the wind of a Trip Advisor Award and naive travelers who bought a Groupon. We did speak to him by phone.
The room reeked of mold. I tried to make the best of it by spraying Fabreeze all over the place, but it could not compete with that and the smell of sewage. The window in the bathroom was left open so we got several interesting species of insects covering the walls and floors.
Mario must have been in a hurry to leave because he didn't attach the sink to the wall. He's probably awaiting the sink counter, which was substituted with a painted piece of plywood. The counter is probably coming with a proper size front door and maybe a hanger or two.
Woke up with a tremendous headache and nausea due to the smell of mold. That was probably a good thing because the breakfast consisted of stale bread, some sort of salad dressing and eggs.
Mario told us to be at reception at 8am for a rafting tour. 45min later we were still waiting. He never booked the tour! Luckily the tour company still had availability and rushed over to come get us and the day was saved.
There are so many lovely resorts in La Fortuna pay the $15 more and go there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a Groupon, so we were stuck for three days. The upside is that the garden is very pretty, and it was amusing to see the toads and frogs enjoying the pool at night. The downsize - you are really isolated and there is no one there who can help you. We originally were not renting a car, but after the first night, we went into Fortuna and did and things got better from there. You absolutely need a car at this place. The rooms were very basic, without some of the simple things you might expect like drinking glasses, a TV remote control and pillows on all the beds. Bare light bulbs, no bedside table. They have no right to call this a resort. The person with whom we had emailed never showed up in person despite promising to be there and help us organize some sightseeing. The "waterfall tour" that was part of the package was never offered. I brought it up and again got no details or assistance so we just dropped it. Breakfast was good on one day when an older woman who knew what she was doing showed up. Otherwise, it was like the kids are in charge, and they don't speak English or know how to run a "resort." I realize that Spanish is the language here, but if you are focusing on an American audience, someone should be present at the place who can actually help you out in at least basic English, as has been the case everywhere else we have been in Costa Rica. If you have a Groupon, consider using their cancellation policy and take the credit toward something else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We read the reviews on tripadvisor before we came here, so we had mixed feelings when arriving. We stayed here 3 days, visiting from Florida. It's off the main road and you have to take an unpaved road, easy to miss if you don't have a gps. I highly recommend you have your own rental car, preferably a SUV. It's about a 10 minute drive from town center. We stayed in room 5 which is a family room (there was only 2 of us and 4 beds). Check in was very easy, Benny is a young man, spoke little English but he knew exactly who we were, big smile, very courteous. I showed my passport, he gave me a room key, didn't need my credit card or any security deposit and I didn't have to sign for anything. The room is clean, seems to have been remodeled recently including the bathrooms, no bugs (woohoo, I read about cockroaches in the previous posts & almost canceled my reservation) a microwave, cable flat screen tv, mini fridge, wifi, and a/c. The grounds are pristine, very beautiful, kept super neat, next to a running river behind the pool. The pool is small, not very deep, but kept clean for visitors. Just use the pool before night or else the local frogs will come claim is as their own. La Fortuna waterfall is close by and you'd be doing yourself a disservice if you didn't go there while staying here. Breakfast was good. We started with watermelon juice with fruit (watermelon, banana, pineapple). It was a bit chaotic since it was just Benny & another young lady running the whole show. There were other guests who were picky eaters & making it difficult. This isn't the Hilton or Sheraton, it's a budget motel/hotel that is well worth the price, I booked through Expedia and paid about $60 per night. The hot meal includes a piece of toast, egg omelet with cheese & ham, unlimited coffee, and assorted cookies. If I had to say anything negative: only 2 towels, only 2 pillows, no daily housekeeping, no dinner service, I didn't see the BBQ grill I thought we read about online, no trash can near the pool area, no one to assist with tour bookings (can easily be done all over town center), and the dirt road to get to the hotel. Overall, amazing place, would definitely stay again and recommend to others!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.