We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Small rooms with a bit noisy airco and lukewarm water, but overall spotless. It does the job for a couple of nights. Easier to reach with a car as it is a bit further from the town, but also very quiet since off the main road, with a big home made breakfast and extremely kind staff. We would totally recommended if you are searching for a good value hotel - no luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    49
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
84
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend a few days ago while we were visiting the sights around La Fortuna. The place is slightly farther away from some of the sights than other hotels but still very accessible. My girlfriend and I strongly regret forgetting the name of the young man who appeared to be the sole staff member in charge at the time, but his service is the greatest either of us have witnessed from any hotel anywhere. The hotel includes freshly prepared and delicious breakfast and lunch, and we were even given fresh coconuts from their trees to drink when we asked about them. The room was clean, spacious, and well-maintained. The availability of AC was a lifesaver, and the TV, fridge, and microwave was a nice touch as well. Overall I greatly recommend this hotel to any traveller who wants great service and value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is not a luxe hotel but is realy cheap and the rooms are big and confortable
one thing that can be unconvinient is that its a little bit close to the volcano but you still have a nice view and they contact you with all the fortuna activities

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Mario & family & staff were super helpful with rides & recommendations & discount tickets. They went above & beyond to make sure we had a great time!!! The free breakfast was great & the grounds & rooms were clean & well-kept. The only downside is its a little outside of the town so you need a rental car or to pay for taxis. Definitely go to Baldi Hot Springs and the zipline tour!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Lavas del Arenal. Mario was very helpful in recommending tours, dinner options, and he also helped us arrange to rent a car before we left for Guanacaste. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean, staff were friendly, breakfast and coffee were served on site in the morning. Our one regret is that we did not rent a car earlier in our trip. It would have been helpful in getting around since we stayed outside of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, though it is very basic in its amenities (hot water was hit and miss and the shower was fairly primitive). It's definitely not a "luxury experience" but that wasn't what we were looking for. The hotel was charming, the rooms were scrupulously clean and the owner, Mario, was delightful. Very helpful, with lots of advice about which activities we should try, he also made us a fantastic "typical" Costa Rican dinner one night for a very reasonable price (I think about $8 US per person) when we were too exhausted to head out to a restaurant. Homemade breakfast was also included in the rate, and the hotel has a lovely garden and a small pool. It even has a playground where our kids spent a few happy hours after dinner swinging and watching the fascinating antics of the leaf-cutter ants that were systematically destroying a nearby bush.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided to take a small vacation out of San Jose (We are locals). We bought an offer on a popular discount site (Locals Only) and we were on our way. We took a rental car as mine was going into the paint shop, we took a Hyundai Accent Blue from Adobe Rent a Car and we left San Jose around 11 AM.

I knew the Hotel was a few KMs out of Arenal, and our GPS (Regular Garmin) found the place with ease. On arrival the small reception kind of gave a negative impression, but the person receiving was extremely friendly (not sure if he was the owner). He welcomed us, talked to us about the tour we picked, and explained to us how the hotel was set up and the breakfast. He then took us to the room.

The rooms were very pleasant, they are small but comforting, they include a small fridge, and a nice LCD TV. The shower was pretty big and nice, the bed was comfortable, and the room was well set up overall, some nice decorations.

The hotel itself was nice, the surroundings included a small wood table and trunks to sit on, the pool area looked nice (didn't use it).

The food was rather below average, the fruit was OK, the pinto on the first day was very dry and didn't really have any taste, but it wasn't that bad. The drinks good and the coffee aswell.

Take note, if YOU come to this hotel, you will need a CAR, or awesome hitchhiking skills, it is far from Arenal. Around 10 minutes by car.

Dislikes:
* The coffee maker in our room was dirty, and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a year.
* Lavatory had a small leak, on the first day they said they would fix it, by the time we left, still no fix.
* With the curtains closed the room is very dark, might be a good idea to have night table lamps or something.
* There is no restaurant, but they do make food if you order it. We ordered dinner and they gave me a small piece of chicken that looked like it had come off a small chick.
* AC took a while to cool and it was noisy. (And was leaking on the wood inside the room)

Liked:
* Price, for what we got, the price was fair I guess.
* Friendly service, even if we were local they were very nice and friendly.
* Room was cleaned daily and gave fresh towels.
* Far from everything, so it is VERY quiet. It gives piece of mind.
* The whole layout of the hotel is very nice, and green areas a in top shape.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.