We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was 4 of us, young guys, looking for adventure and fun in Costa Rica! We were not looking for 5 star resort, so this hotel for the price and description was the best match and we did not get disappointed. Hotel located in a small quite place, away from the city center(but 5 minutes by car), has nice backyard with bbq aria, pool and little river coming running from the mountains, very peaceful! all you need after long day full of attractions. And sure this hotel would not much different from the others, if not the owner!!! Thank You a lot!! He made our stay amazing. He speaks good English, he recommended the best attraction to go, helped us to get discount prices, gave us the ride around the town just for little fuel charge, brought us to fresh market, so we could get the meet and veggies for BBQ, helped to rent a car, etc. If you are the first time visitor - I definitely will recommend this hotel for everyone. If I ever go to La Fortuna again, I'll stay there. Once again, if you are looking for the nice, warm atmosphere and not for 5star resort with 50'' flat screen TV - this is the place to go! Thank You, Mario!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    50
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family of five (3 kids 11,9,5) stayed here for three nights. The room was clean and spacious. It is hard for a family to find quality but well priced accommodations but this was perfect. Each child had his/her own bed and we shared a Queen. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided. Breakfast was included and was very good. My kids loved it (fresh fruit, fresh juice, eggs, beans/rice, bread, tea, coffee) all served outside in an airy patio. We ate dinner there twice bc it was just easy after a long day and the food was excellent. No menu but they offer a very typical casado plate and it is fresh and very good. It is very family friendly with a small play area, swing, creek, and clean pool. Mario and his family make you feel like old friends. He was incredibly helpful, attentive, and friendly. His English is perfect but he was also nice enough to try and speak Spanish with my kids who are still learning the language. I felt very welcomed and would highly recommend this hotel. A car might be helpful but it you reserve tours you will have transport that way. Also, it is easy to get a cab, too. That is another good thing...Mario seems always there to help or answer questions. All of our needs were met incredibly quickly and with genuine care/concern.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

On our arrival we had a small hiccup when we were told our 3 night reservation had only been made for 2 but we were assured it would be resolved. We had a great introduction to the place and found a lovely clean room with a nice bed, great AC a fridge and a nice big shower. We said that we'd have to leave early the next morning before breakfast for our tour but the owner said we could come to breakfast early and something would be made for us.
There's a nice little pool that was good for a bit of a chillout after a day out and about in Arenal. At one stage some music was put on specially for us and the pool was cleaned, without us asking I might add.
It is a bit out of La Fortuna and all its bars and restaurants, which was fine for us having a car but may prove a bit more awkward without transport although I'm sure a taxi ride wouldn't cost too much.
It took a few chats because the owner was very busy with expansion work but in the end we stayed in our room for a 3 nights so things worked out brilliantly.
On our leaving we were given some great advice that proved helpful on our onward journey.
A great little place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

First two nights in Costa Rica were here. Best welcome you could ever have. Small creek behind property, nice pool and covered breakfast/meal area. Room was nice. Saw toucans in the trees in the morning, great free breakfast. Garmin GPS brought us right there. Very friendly, helpful people. Would have loved to stay more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This quiet gem is located just outside of La Fortuna within easy traveling distance to the Arenal Volcano, a variety of hot springs, and any hiking/ziplining/animal safari adventures you could want.

Rooms are spotless and equipped with air-conditioning, microwaves, and a fridge. Pool and grounds are also well-maintained with a great balance of manicured plants and unfettered nature nearby.

Mario, the owner, is the most friendly and helpful person you could ever hope to meet. I was traveling with two girlfriends and he gave us outstanding advice regarding safety, the best tours and attractions, hooked us up with discounts, and told us how to avoid scams. He went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was enjoyable.

Breakfast is included every day -- delicious fresh fruit, beans and rice, eggs in a variety of styles, and Costa Rican coffee for the caffeine-deficient of the world. Additionally, you're eating in a shaded outdoor area with gorgeous plants and tropical birds near enough to view (but not to interfere with breakfast!)

Shower took a little while to drain. That's about all I've got for drawbacks.

I've already told my mother and sister that we'll be staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is small but very well cared for with a friendly, accommodating staff. The rooms are clean. There is a lovely stream running along the back of the property. Mario, the owner, can get touring packages at better prices and will work with tourists to set up rental cars before they arrive. Mario will also cook a tasty Costa Rican dinner on the premises for a nominal fee. Bernie fixes an excellent breakfast each morning which includes eggs, ham, fruits,juice,and delicious coffee. La Fortuna,
the nearby town, has many great activities to offer. ( ziplining, whitewater rafting, hot springs visits, volcano hikes, etc.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our last stop after touring Costa Rica and Panama for 12 days. We throughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lavas del Arenal. I have stayed at a lot of small motels and bed and breakfasts. I felt Mario was among the most accomodating and friendly hosts I have ever met. He arranged a taxi to take us to and from town at a reasonable rate. Bernie (his right hand man) made a delicious hot breakfast each morning. One night Mario made us dinner for a very reasonable amount. We also got to meet his father-in-law. Although his father-in-law speaks very little English, he went out of his way to make us feel welcome. If I am ever in La Fortuna again, I will definitely stay at Hotel Lavas del Arenal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.