We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved this place! Mario, the owner, is very hospitable and accommodating. We arrived late in the evening after a horrible first day in San Jose. Lavas del Arenal was a welcoming place to be! The room was clean and comfortable with tv, small fridge, microwave. The bed was comfy and the room was spotless. The grounds are lush and very well taken care of. We loved the river flowing at the back of the property. Breakfast was great and supper even better. Mario is a great cook! The other guests were quiet and were clearly enjoying their stay as well. You can arrange tours from here. It's only about a 10 minute drive to La Fortuna so it's in an excellent location. We would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    53
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
48
88
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely place in the middle of the forest, we really enjoyed the service by the owners, not far from San Carlos and El Tabacon, if your looking for a great value near in a quiet area near the attractions this is the place. Breakfast is great and if you need to arrange any activities you can set up any of them right at the place. Tje best is the attention by the owners.

Room Tip: Easier if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We took the bus from San Jose, good times. Arrived in the afternoon, the owner showed us to our room and spoke with us for 10-15 minutes about the property, he gave us the personal tour and was more than helpful. Dinner was excellent, simple and delicious. If I ever get the opportunity to come back i will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved This little hotel close to san carlos' s main attactions and far enough to a get away experience.
Enjoy the service and treat from costarican people ... Oh and my 7 year boy enjoy the adventure :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from Fortuna and the activities. We did not have a car so that was a bit of a problem although you could always use a taxi. In fact, it might anyway be best to rent a car when you are in Arenal because the activities may be quite a distance away from each other. The room was fairly basic although we had a superior room. The superior here means that you have an extra bed for a third person. The room did not feel good for us. It was a bit run-down, smelled of cleaning liquids (which is good I suppose) and the shower was a bit dodgy (water+electrical wiring gives me creeps). However, the host Mario took extra efforts to please the guests and make them feel welcome. Whatever you needed, he tried to provide it. Even excellent dinners if you didn't feel like going to the town. He was always available. So, a bit mixed feelings: at best an average hotel but the host provided an exceptional service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

If you have a car, this is the place to stay. We (a swedish couple around 30) did not and still stayed for four days, booking one day at a time. The hotel is situated about 6-8 kilometers from La Fortuna. It has a nice pool, beautiful surroundings, all kinds of fruit trees in the garden, beautiful birds of all sorts just next to where you have breakfast. With a bit of luck you can also see other animals, like the poison dart frog, armadillo and iguana (we will post some pictures). The rooms are nice and tidy with tv, coffeemaker and refrigerator and everything works fine. A nice medium sized breakfast is included as well as wifi all around the property. The owner, Mario, likes to show you around and is very informative about anything you would like to know really. He's been working in the US for several years and speaks english flawlessly. Of course you can book your tours through him and be picked up at the hotel. If you ask Mario, he can make you a nice traditional dinner in the evening, too. The service and hospitality is really the best! However there is no menu and I guess you can't be sure to have all your meals at Lavas (though we did not ask). Therefore a car you can drive to town where the restaurants are would be preferred. Taxi works fine too, but taking a taxi every night to and from La Fortuna is actually quite pricey (that goes for the whole country, taxis are expensive), and the closest good restaurant is about a 30 minute walk away I think.

To sum it all up, Lavas del Arenal exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a cosy place in beautiful surroundings. The price and great service adds the extra value to the experience. If you have a car the deal is done.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lavas del Arenal Hotel, what a nice place to stay.
It is one of those inviting places you want to stay for a while.
Don Mario (owner)’s hospitality is so welcoming that you want to come back soon again.

God is so blessing with our country Costa Rica because we can enjoy all those magnificent wonder of nature in a very short piece of land.

Room Tip: Want to be hypnotize by the sounds of nature, get the rooms closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.