We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing vacation choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing vacation choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I loved This little hotel close to san carlos' s main attactions and far enough to a get away experience.
Enjoy the service and treat from costarican people ... Oh and my 7 year boy enjoy the adventure :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    83
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
68
139
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from Fortuna and the activities. We did not have a car so that was a bit of a problem although you could always use a taxi. In fact, it might anyway be best to rent a car when you are in Arenal because the activities may be quite a distance away from each other. The room was fairly basic although we had a superior room. The superior here means that you have an extra bed for a third person. The room did not feel good for us. It was a bit run-down, smelled of cleaning liquids (which is good I suppose) and the shower was a bit dodgy (water+electrical wiring gives me creeps). However, the host Mario took extra efforts to please the guests and make them feel welcome. Whatever you needed, he tried to provide it. Even excellent dinners if you didn't feel like going to the town. He was always available. So, a bit mixed feelings: at best an average hotel but the host provided an exceptional service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

If you have a car, this is the place to stay. We (a swedish couple around 30) did not and still stayed for four days, booking one day at a time. The hotel is situated about 6-8 kilometers from La Fortuna. It has a nice pool, beautiful surroundings, all kinds of fruit trees in the garden, beautiful birds of all sorts just next to where you have breakfast. With a bit of luck you can also see other animals, like the poison dart frog, armadillo and iguana (we will post some pictures). The rooms are nice and tidy with tv, coffeemaker and refrigerator and everything works fine. A nice medium sized breakfast is included as well as wifi all around the property. The owner, Mario, likes to show you around and is very informative about anything you would like to know really. He's been working in the US for several years and speaks english flawlessly. Of course you can book your tours through him and be picked up at the hotel. If you ask Mario, he can make you a nice traditional dinner in the evening, too. The service and hospitality is really the best! However there is no menu and I guess you can't be sure to have all your meals at Lavas (though we did not ask). Therefore a car you can drive to town where the restaurants are would be preferred. Taxi works fine too, but taking a taxi every night to and from La Fortuna is actually quite pricey (that goes for the whole country, taxis are expensive), and the closest good restaurant is about a 30 minute walk away I think.

To sum it all up, Lavas del Arenal exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a cosy place in beautiful surroundings. The price and great service adds the extra value to the experience. If you have a car the deal is done.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lavas del Arenal Hotel, what a nice place to stay.
It is one of those inviting places you want to stay for a while.
Don Mario (owner)’s hospitality is so welcoming that you want to come back soon again.

God is so blessing with our country Costa Rica because we can enjoy all those magnificent wonder of nature in a very short piece of land.

Room Tip: Want to be hypnotize by the sounds of nature, get the rooms closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel was great! Originally we were staying for one night but stayed for two and didn't want to leave! Convenient location. Very nice place and a extremely hospitable owner Mario(my wife and I called him SUPER Mario!) He was fantastic! He created a very welcoming atmosphere. Recommended and helped making reservations for White Water Rafting and Zip-Lining which was one in a life time experience! He also let us use his discount with those attractions. Helped us find a coffee tours and was extremely helpful with everything.
One time he was cooking a diner for his guests and we just stopped by to chat and share our adventures. We started asking him about his garden of many exotic fruits that grow on the property. When we mentioned that we never tried a fresh coconut off the tree - he suddenly left and came back with a machete! Here's the video of that: http://youtu.be/dytuwLZLFEI
Enjoyed our stay very much! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a little paradise. It is located about 10 minutes from La Fortuna and with the information we had from google maps, we easily found it. The room was very clean and had a microwave, a fridge and large flat screen TV. Mario and his family are the most hospitable! They serve a very good breakfast in the morning. Mario happily showed us and explained all the different fruit trees that were surrounding us. The whole place is a garden! At the back of the land, there is a creek and right next to it there is a BBQ area where you could cook if you wanted (they can provide the cooking utensils). The swimming pool was very nice and clean. It is a very quiet and relaxing place in a beautiful setting. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lavas del Arenal during our recent visit to Costa Rica. The hotel is located on neatly manicured grounds that provided welcome respite from our long drive. Rooms are well-equipped.

Most importantly, Mario (who owns and manages the property) is an extremely friendly, helpful and resourceful person and gave us a lot of useful tips and suggestions about the local area and sightseeing.

Breakfast is fresh and tasty.

This is a homely and great place to stay. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#28 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.