We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavas del Arenal, a place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
SJO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lavas del Arenal, a place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lavas del Arenal Hotel, what a nice place to stay.
It is one of those inviting places you want to stay for a while.
Don Mario (owner)’s hospitality is so welcoming that you want to come back soon again.

God is so blessing with our country Costa Rica because we can enjoy all those magnificent wonder of nature in a very short piece of land.

Room Tip: Want to be hypnotize by the sounds of nature, get the rooms closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel was great! Originally we were staying for one night but stayed for two and didn't want to leave! Convenient location. Very nice place and a extremely hospitable owner Mario(my wife and I called him SUPER Mario!) He was fantastic! He created a very welcoming atmosphere. Recommended and helped making reservations for White Water Rafting and Zip-Lining which was one in a life time experience! He also let us use his discount with those attractions. Helped us find a coffee tours and was extremely helpful with everything.
One time he was cooking a diner for his guests and we just stopped by to chat and share our adventures. We started asking him about his garden of many exotic fruits that grow on the property. When we mentioned that we never tried a fresh coconut off the tree - he suddenly left and came back with a machete! Here's the video of that: http://youtu.be/dytuwLZLFEI
Enjoyed our stay very much! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a little paradise. It is located about 10 minutes from La Fortuna and with the information we had from google maps, we easily found it. The room was very clean and had a microwave, a fridge and large flat screen TV. Mario and his family are the most hospitable! They serve a very good breakfast in the morning. Mario happily showed us and explained all the different fruit trees that were surrounding us. The whole place is a garden! At the back of the land, there is a creek and right next to it there is a BBQ area where you could cook if you wanted (they can provide the cooking utensils). The swimming pool was very nice and clean. It is a very quiet and relaxing place in a beautiful setting. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcVl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lavas del Arenal during our recent visit to Costa Rica. The hotel is located on neatly manicured grounds that provided welcome respite from our long drive. Rooms are well-equipped.

Most importantly, Mario (who owns and manages the property) is an extremely friendly, helpful and resourceful person and gave us a lot of useful tips and suggestions about the local area and sightseeing.

Breakfast is fresh and tasty.

This is a homely and great place to stay. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was great in every way. We stayed during the rainy season (October). The hotel was very affordable ($40/night), quiet, very comfortable and restful. Breakfast was included, and it was delicious - gallo pinto, huevos revueltos, lots of fresh fruit, freshly-made fruit juice, coffee, toast. There's a nice pool and a creek that meanders along the back of the property which has beautifully kept lawns and gardens and lots of fruit trees and flowers. My boyfriend and I both agreed that one of the best parts of our trip to Lavas de Arenal was Mario, the owners' son-in-law who runs the hotel. He made breakfast for us every morning, was very nice and helpful and extremely welcoming. He helped us to book a hotel in Manuel Antonio for later on in the trip and arranged a tour/zip line for us. As this was our first stop on our trip, it really set a good tone for the rest of the trip.

Keep in mind that the hotel is ~5km outside of town. This was a plus for us since we rented a car. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the busy and touristy La Fortuna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were greeted by Mario a very helpful person who immediately was able to answer all our questions. Gave us a tour of the hotel and the amenities and prepared a wonder meal for us. We ate in a lovely patio outdoors where we enjoyed watching beautiful birds and a nice breeze envelope us in this little piece of tranquility and nature. We asked for suggestions and were given the rapids of Sarapiqui and the Baldi Hot Springs both of which we enjoyed to the fullest! We enjoyed the time there, the pool was clean, clean sheets, room was nice and roomy, it was clean, we could see Mario takes great care of the property and wanted to accommodate us well. I would return to it just for the beauty, hospitality and cleanliness. It was affordable and peaceful. We also made great conversation with a lovely worker, Ever.

Room Tip: It is clean, spacious, friendly and affordable. Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 178Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Enjoyed a perfect stay in this Gem of a place. Mario and his family attended to our needs each and every time we needed it. They were very helpful that we felt we were around family. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, that it made our vacation more pleasant and enjoyable. They serve an excellent breakfast surrounded by luscious flowers and various fruit trees. One feels like we are eating in a jungle paradise. On our next trip to the Arenal, we are once again staying in The Lavas del Arenal. I highly recommend this hotel to all visitors of the Arenal.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a great location. The scenery is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#38 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#30 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tilajari Hotel Resort
Tilajari Hotel Resort
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#31 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing