We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived at this little hideaway, and were surprised. There was no real "office" to speak of, instead the owner just walked out with our room keys in hand. He took us to our rooms, and then gave us a personal guided tour of the property. Told is all about the delicious fruits that they grow, even getting some for us to sample. He showed us where to look for certain birds (toucans, etc), and when they would most likely be visible.
The next morning we woke up to the gardener having caught a blue jean dart frog for us to see, because when they mentioned them the day before I was very excited to hopefully see one. Then he pointed out an arisari toucan in the tree. While we ate our complimentary breakfast (which was delicious), we were also being shown all kinds of different birds that frequent the property.
All in all, very pleased with the stay, it was such a pleasant experience. We will definitely be back. Highly recommend this to anyone who isn't expecting anything grand but wants a very friendly, typical costa rican hospitality. Oh, the rooms have ac that works incredibly well...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
54
99
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Quiet, well-kept, and clean room and grounds. Pool area and landscaping/breakfast area are beautiful. Rooms themselves are small but they do offer a small fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. A few couples were there with small children when we were there and the sound travels a bit : )

Overall, great little place and a good value. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I just put down the facts and you can decide :)

+ nice owner
+ cheaper tickets to Baldi than from the door
+ they can arrange trips to you
+ swimming pool, breakfast, wifi in the lobby
+ there is a river near by where you can swim
+ really clean room, hot water, fridgerator, microwave oven, coffee maker

- owner doesn't speak English
- location is far from city, but that's not a problem with a car
- wifi doesn't work in the room, only lobby

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at hotel Lavas del Arenal. It's a nice small hotel with only a few rooms, but they all have a fridge and microwave (no tv) and the w-ifi was working fine. We really liked the beautiful quiet location of the hotel. We also loved the gardens with swimming pool and the little creek that's running through the back of the property. The open breakfast area was beautiful and the breakfast was pretty good, especially the coffee! It was kind of challenging placing your order, as we don't speak Spanish and the staff doesn't speak English, but that's the fun part of going on vacation.
The hotel is on a dirt road, just off the main road. Before you decide to book this hotel, make sure you know how you will get around, as you will need a taxi or rental car to get to La Fortuna, it's a bit of a drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stay 3days at this hotel. it make me so comfortable and placeful because every-moning i could hear song of bird, and good view, very silent. and swimpool is nice with nature view.
also internet is so fast so i could use any wep-site so fasttly.
The owner is very kindly help for me so i could taxi very cheap more then normal price and
they give to me good information for trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's definitely not fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and a great value. It's a little off the beaten track, but the owners are welcoming and helpful, and you'll get a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place was a nice setting, very clean and has very hospitable hosts. The rooms are nothing fancy but are well kept. The grounds are beautiful with lots of hummingbirds buzzing around early - mid morning. It is a bit out of town so it probably best for travellers with a car. Breakfast was included and was good tico fare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.