We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place near La Fortuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place near La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at hotel Lavas del Arenal. It's a nice small hotel with only a few rooms, but they all have a fridge and microwave (no tv) and the w-ifi was working fine. We really liked the beautiful quiet location of the hotel. We also loved the gardens with swimming pool and the little creek that's running through the back of the property. The open breakfast area was beautiful and the breakfast was pretty good, especially the coffee! It was kind of challenging placing your order, as we don't speak Spanish and the staff doesn't speak English, but that's the fun part of going on vacation.
The hotel is on a dirt road, just off the main road. Before you decide to book this hotel, make sure you know how you will get around, as you will need a taxi or rental car to get to La Fortuna, it's a bit of a drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    63
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
57
104
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stay 3days at this hotel. it make me so comfortable and placeful because every-moning i could hear song of bird, and good view, very silent. and swimpool is nice with nature view.
also internet is so fast so i could use any wep-site so fasttly.
The owner is very kindly help for me so i could taxi very cheap more then normal price and
they give to me good information for trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's definitely not fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and a great value. It's a little off the beaten track, but the owners are welcoming and helpful, and you'll get a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place was a nice setting, very clean and has very hospitable hosts. The rooms are nothing fancy but are well kept. The grounds are beautiful with lots of hummingbirds buzzing around early - mid morning. It is a bit out of town so it probably best for travellers with a car. Breakfast was included and was good tico fare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

this place is great if you need somewhere simple and cheap. the beds to me were fairly comfortable. room included a microwave, minifridge, and coffee maker (BYOC). The shower is kind of weird because you have to play with the water pressure to get the water warm or cold (goes through some sort of gadget to warm it up). my boyfriend was very concerned about the exposed wire. The AC is very loud...and the windows don't open (my only two complaints), but it gets very gross in there if you don't run it. The pool was kind of a plus for us while choosing a place to stay, but we never ended up using it. we were busy during the day and at night there are a bunch of frogs inside (kind of fun to go out there with a flashlight). breakfast is simple, eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, and papaya juice. i was sick the first morning, throwing up and all, and the owner was nice enough to give my boyfriend toast for me. the internet worked fine the whole time, and the landscape is very beautiful. you can see the volcano from the front of the property, and is about 10 or so minutes from town. kind of hard to find but we went up the last road before the main street turns one way and it's on a dirt road off of that street ( theres a small sign that says "lavas del arenal 5 minutos")

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Ligia and Gabriel ~ they are what ALL hotel, motel and B&B owners should strive for! We stayed for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and we felt like we were with family. From the awesome breakfast, where Ligia cooks and her staff serve you first with coffee, juice and a fruit plate, and then eggs & toast, sitting outside listening to the Toucans and other birds! While we were there, Gabriel chopped open coconuts for all to drink coconut water...I know that, had he had little umbrellas, he would've supplied them!! They both go the extra mile to ensure your stay is everything you dreamed of! Communication was a little rough at first, but by the 2nd day, with help from my phone translator, we made it work, and sooo many laughs in the process! Taxi service is cheaper going through Ligia, and she connected me with a woman on the phone who spoke good English to make excursion plans (canyon zip-lining and ATV were not too far, and we had a blast!). Our room had 1 queen-sized bed and 3 twins, refrig, shower stall. Of course there are Cons in every situation, so for this resort, it would be the hot water was a puzzle: the less you turned the nozzle, the hotter it was (but they DO have hot water!); and the pool area is surrounded by palm trees and other plants and tall trees, which dropped leaves into the pool, making it appear it wasn't tended to. When it came time to leave, I couldn't hold back the tears any longer and just cried...... If this had more stars, they'd definitely get them! START PACKING NOW!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Owners are very enthusiastic and really want you to have a great time in CR. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is pretty good, with gallo pinto, eggs, ham, toast and fruit.
Don't have much negative points to share. Maybe the AC was a bit loud and the shower (hot water) is a bit tricky. It's also like 5 miles out of La Fortuna, so there really is nothing to do around. You'll definately need a car. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.