We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stay 3days at this hotel. it make me so comfortable and placeful because every-moning i could hear song of bird, and good view, very silent. and swimpool is nice with nature view.
also internet is so fast so i could use any wep-site so fasttly.
The owner is very kindly help for me so i could taxi very cheap more then normal price and
they give to me good information for trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    52
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's definitely not fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and a great value. It's a little off the beaten track, but the owners are welcoming and helpful, and you'll get a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place was a nice setting, very clean and has very hospitable hosts. The rooms are nothing fancy but are well kept. The grounds are beautiful with lots of hummingbirds buzzing around early - mid morning. It is a bit out of town so it probably best for travellers with a car. Breakfast was included and was good tico fare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

this place is great if you need somewhere simple and cheap. the beds to me were fairly comfortable. room included a microwave, minifridge, and coffee maker (BYOC). The shower is kind of weird because you have to play with the water pressure to get the water warm or cold (goes through some sort of gadget to warm it up). my boyfriend was very concerned about the exposed wire. The AC is very loud...and the windows don't open (my only two complaints), but it gets very gross in there if you don't run it. The pool was kind of a plus for us while choosing a place to stay, but we never ended up using it. we were busy during the day and at night there are a bunch of frogs inside (kind of fun to go out there with a flashlight). breakfast is simple, eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, and papaya juice. i was sick the first morning, throwing up and all, and the owner was nice enough to give my boyfriend toast for me. the internet worked fine the whole time, and the landscape is very beautiful. you can see the volcano from the front of the property, and is about 10 or so minutes from town. kind of hard to find but we went up the last road before the main street turns one way and it's on a dirt road off of that street ( theres a small sign that says "lavas del arenal 5 minutos")

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Ligia and Gabriel ~ they are what ALL hotel, motel and B&B owners should strive for! We stayed for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and we felt like we were with family. From the awesome breakfast, where Ligia cooks and her staff serve you first with coffee, juice and a fruit plate, and then eggs & toast, sitting outside listening to the Toucans and other birds! While we were there, Gabriel chopped open coconuts for all to drink coconut water...I know that, had he had little umbrellas, he would've supplied them!! They both go the extra mile to ensure your stay is everything you dreamed of! Communication was a little rough at first, but by the 2nd day, with help from my phone translator, we made it work, and sooo many laughs in the process! Taxi service is cheaper going through Ligia, and she connected me with a woman on the phone who spoke good English to make excursion plans (canyon zip-lining and ATV were not too far, and we had a blast!). Our room had 1 queen-sized bed and 3 twins, refrig, shower stall. Of course there are Cons in every situation, so for this resort, it would be the hot water was a puzzle: the less you turned the nozzle, the hotter it was (but they DO have hot water!); and the pool area is surrounded by palm trees and other plants and tall trees, which dropped leaves into the pool, making it appear it wasn't tended to. When it came time to leave, I couldn't hold back the tears any longer and just cried...... If this had more stars, they'd definitely get them! START PACKING NOW!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Owners are very enthusiastic and really want you to have a great time in CR. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is pretty good, with gallo pinto, eggs, ham, toast and fruit.
Don't have much negative points to share. Maybe the AC was a bit loud and the shower (hot water) is a bit tricky. It's also like 5 miles out of La Fortuna, so there really is nothing to do around. You'll definately need a car. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Nov 17th-20th and we couldn't have been happier or felt more at home. (So much so that I feel awful that it took me this long to write this review!) Ligia and Gabriel were just the sweetest people and the property is beautiful. It is somewhat off the beaten path but we rented a car so it wasn't a problem for us - we were happy to be surrounded by nature and away from the noise of La Fortuna. The room and the grounds are immaculate and the service cannot be beat. If we had an early excursion, Ligia offered to make us breakfast at 630AM so we wouldn't go hungry. (And it was delicious and the setting is beautiful.) The rooms are modern and so pretty and so clean. Ligia even took the time to hang clothes that we left on the bed when she cleaned the room. We don't speak any Spanish, but it wasn't a problem, because anytime there was a language issue, Ligia called her son in Miami and he speaks perfect English. This was our third trip to Costa Rica, but our first trip to La Fortuna and I can only hope that we return to La Fortuna in the future because I would LOVE to stay there again - We felt like family. Merry Christmas to Ligia and Gabriel and your familyl!!! <3, Stephen and Joy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.