We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lavas del Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Lavas del Arenal
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's definitely not fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and a great value. It's a little off the beaten track, but the owners are welcoming and helpful, and you'll get a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    74
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
64
127
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place was a nice setting, very clean and has very hospitable hosts. The rooms are nothing fancy but are well kept. The grounds are beautiful with lots of hummingbirds buzzing around early - mid morning. It is a bit out of town so it probably best for travellers with a car. Breakfast was included and was good tico fare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

this place is great if you need somewhere simple and cheap. the beds to me were fairly comfortable. room included a microwave, minifridge, and coffee maker (BYOC). The shower is kind of weird because you have to play with the water pressure to get the water warm or cold (goes through some sort of gadget to warm it up). my boyfriend was very concerned about the exposed wire. The AC is very loud...and the windows don't open (my only two complaints), but it gets very gross in there if you don't run it. The pool was kind of a plus for us while choosing a place to stay, but we never ended up using it. we were busy during the day and at night there are a bunch of frogs inside (kind of fun to go out there with a flashlight). breakfast is simple, eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, and papaya juice. i was sick the first morning, throwing up and all, and the owner was nice enough to give my boyfriend toast for me. the internet worked fine the whole time, and the landscape is very beautiful. you can see the volcano from the front of the property, and is about 10 or so minutes from town. kind of hard to find but we went up the last road before the main street turns one way and it's on a dirt road off of that street ( theres a small sign that says "lavas del arenal 5 minutos")

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Ligia and Gabriel ~ they are what ALL hotel, motel and B&B owners should strive for! We stayed for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and we felt like we were with family. From the awesome breakfast, where Ligia cooks and her staff serve you first with coffee, juice and a fruit plate, and then eggs & toast, sitting outside listening to the Toucans and other birds! While we were there, Gabriel chopped open coconuts for all to drink coconut water...I know that, had he had little umbrellas, he would've supplied them!! They both go the extra mile to ensure your stay is everything you dreamed of! Communication was a little rough at first, but by the 2nd day, with help from my phone translator, we made it work, and sooo many laughs in the process! Taxi service is cheaper going through Ligia, and she connected me with a woman on the phone who spoke good English to make excursion plans (canyon zip-lining and ATV were not too far, and we had a blast!). Our room had 1 queen-sized bed and 3 twins, refrig, shower stall. Of course there are Cons in every situation, so for this resort, it would be the hot water was a puzzle: the less you turned the nozzle, the hotter it was (but they DO have hot water!); and the pool area is surrounded by palm trees and other plants and tall trees, which dropped leaves into the pool, making it appear it wasn't tended to. When it came time to leave, I couldn't hold back the tears any longer and just cried...... If this had more stars, they'd definitely get them! START PACKING NOW!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Owners are very enthusiastic and really want you to have a great time in CR. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is pretty good, with gallo pinto, eggs, ham, toast and fruit.
Don't have much negative points to share. Maybe the AC was a bit loud and the shower (hot water) is a bit tricky. It's also like 5 miles out of La Fortuna, so there really is nothing to do around. You'll definately need a car. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Nov 17th-20th and we couldn't have been happier or felt more at home. (So much so that I feel awful that it took me this long to write this review!) Ligia and Gabriel were just the sweetest people and the property is beautiful. It is somewhat off the beaten path but we rented a car so it wasn't a problem for us - we were happy to be surrounded by nature and away from the noise of La Fortuna. The room and the grounds are immaculate and the service cannot be beat. If we had an early excursion, Ligia offered to make us breakfast at 630AM so we wouldn't go hungry. (And it was delicious and the setting is beautiful.) The rooms are modern and so pretty and so clean. Ligia even took the time to hang clothes that we left on the bed when she cleaned the room. We don't speak any Spanish, but it wasn't a problem, because anytime there was a language issue, Ligia called her son in Miami and he speaks perfect English. This was our third trip to Costa Rica, but our first trip to La Fortuna and I can only hope that we return to La Fortuna in the future because I would LOVE to stay there again - We felt like family. Merry Christmas to Ligia and Gabriel and your familyl!!! <3, Stephen and Joy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is run by extremely nice folks, Ligia and Gabriel. Make you feel right at home. Not much english spoken but Mario who is stateside can assist. My stay lasted 8 days and was very quiet. The rooms are simpe but nice and Mario assures me the TV's are on the way so that you can catch your favorite sport. The internet can get spotty but usually it's available. If you aren't renting a car you are a $6/8 dollar taxi ride from the city, less than 10 minutes. Check around town for your tour prices as there seem to be wide varations. Also, most important as La Fortuna is 3 hours away from SJO ask Mario to help arrange transport so that you don't have to drop $150 to the airport pirates. TIP: If you can make arrangements with an outfit called Interbus to pick you up at a near the airport hotel (they don't pick up at the airport) the trip will cost $40 per person to La Fortuna from San Jose.
Enjoy your vacation, PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lavas del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas del Arenal

Address: 300 Oeste de la Escuela de EL Bosque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lavas del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lavas del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lavas Del Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavas del Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.