We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Monkey Slide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“The Monkey Slide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Springs was the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at in Costa Rica. The grounds, rooms and views were unbelievable. I was there with my husband and our two sons. We had a blast exploring the different pools. The kids and my husband loved the Monkey Slide. We ate dinner two different nights inside the pool. My kids saw the chairs in the pool n the web site and that is all they wanted to do! Great place for a family or couple! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
619
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had no idea what to expect as we drove up the mountain to The Springs....and we could never have imagined the beauty and luxury that awaited us! Definitely the most beautiful resort/hotel we have stayed in. The view from our bed was the smoking Arenal Volcano. The springs are so relaxing and beautiful. The room was exquisite and the bathroom was luxurious. The natural surroundings were amazing! Can't wait to return to The Springs!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Wow! This was just a beautiful, fun, extremely special place to stay! It's hard to describe the special feeling you get staying here, with the Arenal Volcano in full view and all the water features this place offers from water slides to naturally heated pools to soak in. It felt very rejuvenating & therapeutic. This is a 5 star place to stay in all aspects, from food, to spas, to the grounds, to the view! We also went on the waterfall rapelling tour which was just amazing...plan on getting wet! Highly recommended...we had a group of about 25 people & everyone had a fantastic time, whether they just stayed at the resort or ventured out on a few excursions!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our stay at the The Springs began with a gourmet meal and wine at Las Ventanas and continued well into the evening at the swim up bar and the water slide. The accomodations were absolutely wonderful, the rooms very elegent. Upon waking the next morning, perfectly centered in the window was the Arenal volcano!!!! What a beautiful sight.

This is one of the most elegent and well run resorts I have ever visited. We went with a group of friends and will return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Lush gorgeous grounds with exotic plants that made me feel like we were in Avatar. The room was huge with a direct view of the volcano. We would lie in our bed and watch puffs of smoke come out of the volcano. The kids (and myself) absolutely loved the water slides. We did a zip line tour, arranged by the hotel, which was incredible. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I needed a car rental and they found me a difficult to find SUV for less than the websites. Best gym of any hotel that I've stayed at. The food was great and the place was super relaxing. Can't say enough about it. We will definitely be back. Can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

What can i say ...this is with no doubt the best Hotel stay ive had in a long time and defiantly the best in Costa Rica. Ive been going to Costa Rica with my Wife since 2001 and now we go with our 2 boys 4 and 7 ..We normally stay at Tabacon (never again)when visiting the Hot Springs and Volcano ..But i heard great things about the springs ...so i figured lets try it out. We went with another family same who also have 2 boys around the same age ...Us and them were totally blown away with the quality of this place . The springs doesn't miss one detail ..from the exquisite high end rooms ..the marble ..the granite ..the crown mouldings ..the Jacuzzi ,the showers , the furniture..the 40 LCD screen ..the Hammocks on the balconies ..the views etc..etc..we stayed on the 2nd floor ..the rooms with the balconies !!! All i can say is finally a resort with at the Volcano that has almost better then 4 seasons quality..In fact we spent the first 3 nights of our trip here..and the other family whos first trip to Costa Rica..kept saying can we just go back to the springs. The pools..The monkey slide..the wild cats ..THE FOOD all exceeded our expectations...there just something so nice about all day getting dirty dirty dirty (atv,Zip LInes Hiking etc.)and knowing you have a 5 star luxury home to come back to with 100 degree pools ....Great Place .. defiantly see you soon ...a must stay in Costa Rica !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingo costa rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This place is so perfect. We went twice in in two weeks. We loved the sushi. Also the slide thru the jungle. My 4 year old was doing it with me. The gym is the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.