We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLOWN AWAY !!! AWESOME >>” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“BLOWN AWAY !!! AWESOME >>”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

What can i say ...this is with no doubt the best Hotel stay ive had in a long time and defiantly the best in Costa Rica. Ive been going to Costa Rica with my Wife since 2001 and now we go with our 2 boys 4 and 7 ..We normally stay at Tabacon (never again)when visiting the Hot Springs and Volcano ..But i heard great things about the springs ...so i figured lets try it out. We went with another family same who also have 2 boys around the same age ...Us and them were totally blown away with the quality of this place . The springs doesn't miss one detail ..from the exquisite high end rooms ..the marble ..the granite ..the crown mouldings ..the Jacuzzi ,the showers , the furniture..the 40 LCD screen ..the Hammocks on the balconies ..the views etc..etc..we stayed on the 2nd floor ..the rooms with the balconies !!! All i can say is finally a resort with at the Volcano that has almost better then 4 seasons quality..In fact we spent the first 3 nights of our trip here..and the other family whos first trip to Costa Rica..kept saying can we just go back to the springs. The pools..The monkey slide..the wild cats ..THE FOOD all exceeded our expectations...there just something so nice about all day getting dirty dirty dirty (atv,Zip LInes Hiking etc.)and knowing you have a 5 star luxury home to come back to with 100 degree pools ....Great Place .. defiantly see you soon ...a must stay in Costa Rica !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    167
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
455
584
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
flamingo costa rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This place is so perfect. We went twice in in two weeks. We loved the sushi. Also the slide thru the jungle. My 4 year old was doing it with me. The gym is the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

After a long drive, we arrived at the Springs to be greeted by name as we entered the lobby area. Our luggage was taken away and we received welcoming fruit drinks and a tour of the property as we were escorted to our rooms. The staff was great at explaining every amenity offered in our room. The rooms were gorgeous. Wood, stone, high ceilings, and an incredible view of the volcano. There were two huge bathrooms, and this was a regular guestroom. One was designed for the handicapped, and the other was opulent. Two sinks, mirrors everywhere, tiled jacuzzi bathtub, great shower, and lots of space. The bed was very comfortable, and the TV was mounted from the ceiling for comfortable viewing. The room had a wet bar and lots of cups. Everything was spotless, and the room had oversized cabinetry that invited you to unpack. The porch had two hammocks, and a sitting area with volcano and garden views.
We were able to swim on our first night, since the pools were open late. Unfortunately, there was a power outage (common in Costa Rica and that area) which interrupted our swim. However, the staff managed it very well, and offered to escort guests where ever they wanted to go, since the paths were not lit.
We enjoyed all of our meals here. We ate at the sushi bar one night, which was delicious. Another night, we enjoyed finer dining at Las Ventanas. Service and food were excellent, and prices were reasonable. Breakfast was great! It was a vast buffet, including pancakes, waffles, amazing fresh baked pastries and cakes, fruit, bacon, costa rican fare, and an omelet station. All of this was only $12, and it was a great start to our mornings, especially before a tour.
I can't say enough about the pools. Any temperature to suit your desire was available. Pool styles ranged from the large "resort" pool with swim up bar to intimate springs with waterfalls and gorgeous foliage. One pool had a waterslide. Another had a great view of the volcano over an infinity edge.
This hotel is a destination resort, and any one could stay here for a week and not run out of things to do. However, one thing to note, this hotel (as well as many others in the area) is not on the side of the volcano where you can see the lava. You can see smoke from eruptions very well, but no lava.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This resort is nothing short of magical! If there has to be a downside to it, it would have to be the bumpy road leading to the resort from the main road. But trust me, once you get to the resort, that road will be the far from your mind. Don't miss the opportunity to experience one of the most overall beautiful places you can imagine!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We did just a single day at the resort and pools and we didn't want to leave. I'm definitely going back for a longer stay as soon as I can. With the perfect view of the volcano and the mountains you sit or swim in your choice of 18 spring fed pools and relax the day away. Our day trip included dinner which was alright. The staff are friendly and obliging, the drinks are well made. The only thing we were missing was more time.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I often check trip advisor for their suggestions on hotels. I read the reviews for this hotel and decided that, even thought it was rated #5, the photos were spectacular and we would give it a try.
This was by far, the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The rooms were amazing, marble, custom wood trim, jacuzzi, comfortable beds, large flat screen tv's, wonderful hot spring pools, gorgeous views of the volcano, flowers, birds, monkeys, and the preserve to top it off! If you have the opportunity to visit Arenal, you would be remiss not to stay here.
I don't understand how it is #5 on this list and not #1.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I and our six children travel with a nanny so it is a job just to accommodate us. From the moment we arrived it was special. The place is set sufficiently back off of any roads to be secluded by any definition. It is quite an awstriking spectical and the kids were more than excited as we drove up. The porters were waiting at the front and took care of our bags immediately. A host then wisked us off for a glass of fresh and orignal juice and then on to a tour of the resort and its ammenities.
The resort just kept on going. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. One of our kids were ill and they arranged a very competent physician come to us in our room.
All we had to do was to tell the front desk what we wanted to do and when and they arranged it all, including the transportation.
The breakfast buffet is very well done and well worth the stop. Likewise, the view from La Ventana restrant is inspiring. The grounds and all of the pools and springs were amazing and warm. The kids were estactic the whole time.
The Springs Resort really defined Costa Rica for us. We all hope to return soon.
The Springs was definately the high point of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.