We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort is nothing short of magical...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“This resort is nothing short of magical...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This resort is nothing short of magical! If there has to be a downside to it, it would have to be the bumpy road leading to the resort from the main road. But trust me, once you get to the resort, that road will be the far from your mind. Don't miss the opportunity to experience one of the most overall beautiful places you can imagine!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    170
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
458
599
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We did just a single day at the resort and pools and we didn't want to leave. I'm definitely going back for a longer stay as soon as I can. With the perfect view of the volcano and the mountains you sit or swim in your choice of 18 spring fed pools and relax the day away. Our day trip included dinner which was alright. The staff are friendly and obliging, the drinks are well made. The only thing we were missing was more time.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I often check trip advisor for their suggestions on hotels. I read the reviews for this hotel and decided that, even thought it was rated #5, the photos were spectacular and we would give it a try.
This was by far, the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The rooms were amazing, marble, custom wood trim, jacuzzi, comfortable beds, large flat screen tv's, wonderful hot spring pools, gorgeous views of the volcano, flowers, birds, monkeys, and the preserve to top it off! If you have the opportunity to visit Arenal, you would be remiss not to stay here.
I don't understand how it is #5 on this list and not #1.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I and our six children travel with a nanny so it is a job just to accommodate us. From the moment we arrived it was special. The place is set sufficiently back off of any roads to be secluded by any definition. It is quite an awstriking spectical and the kids were more than excited as we drove up. The porters were waiting at the front and took care of our bags immediately. A host then wisked us off for a glass of fresh and orignal juice and then on to a tour of the resort and its ammenities.
The resort just kept on going. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. One of our kids were ill and they arranged a very competent physician come to us in our room.
All we had to do was to tell the front desk what we wanted to do and when and they arranged it all, including the transportation.
The breakfast buffet is very well done and well worth the stop. Likewise, the view from La Ventana restrant is inspiring. The grounds and all of the pools and springs were amazing and warm. The kids were estactic the whole time.
The Springs Resort really defined Costa Rica for us. We all hope to return soon.
The Springs was definately the high point of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I live in Costa Rica and my sister came last month to visit us with her husband and son of 6 years old. We were first in doubt if we were going to Limon or Arenal. I am soooo happy that we decided to go to Arenal and stay at the Springs! I have never staid in such a beautiful hotel. It felt like we were dreaming. They had so many hot springs and wherever you would be in the hotel it looked like if you had the place for your own. Not crowdy at all.
The slide is very fun also. You do not have to be a child to go on it. Believe me you will have fun as an adult also.
If you go there, also take the tour to the wild cats that they have on their property. It is very impressive to see, especially for young kids. Especially my nephew loved it.
I would say this is definitely the BEST hotel in Arenal!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Great staff and location; enjoyed activities and restaurants

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

After encountering a roadblock enroute to our intended hotel, the Springs Resort staff and Joey Morgan, manager, found us accomodations without prior reservations and started our trip to Costa Rica on a good note. The kids loved the countless pools and waterslide. The restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.