We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenal Luxury Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arenal Luxury Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had a fantastic vacation at The Springs Resort & Spa with our 2 children, 7 & 9 years old. This resort has something for everyone!! As we walked to the reception area we were immediatly taken by the breathless view of the Arenal Volcano. The resort is perfectly situated so that every room has an amazing view. The staff was attentive and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable and stocked with all amentities. This luxurious resort surpassed all our expectations!!
Our family enjoyed a horseback riding adventure together as well as an exciting kyak excusion down the river. Mom and daughter spent some quality time in the spa and enjoyed an unique experience with a "chocolate" pedicure. Mom spent some extra time in the spa getting a relaxing facial and massage. The spa staff is well trained, extremely attentive and aimed to satifly our every need.
Dad and son(9) went on the canyoning excursion during which they propelled down 5 waterfall canyons with the longest drop being 17 stories/165 feet! This was something that will not be forgotten!
The beautiful hot springs on the property were both relaxing and fun!. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of nature as we experienced the different temperatures of each spring. The "monkey" slide was especially fun for the kids (but the adults didn't pass up the chance to enjoy the slide as well!!).
The food was great - we started every day with a breakfast buffet on the terrace and enjoyed first class cuisine for dinner not to mention the sushi bar that was open late to serve our needs after a great game of chess, pool or darts on the patio! The kids, of course, enjoyed all the pleasures of home as the staff prepared the "chicken fingers' just the way they liked!
Last but not least, the Jungle Cat habitat was better than any zoo we have been to! The personal tour guide was very informative and funny too!!
Our children were very engaged during this entire vacation and we all had a lot of fun stories, interesting facts and amazing memories to take back home and share with friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    159
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
427
568
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is, simply put, the most amazing property I've ever stayed at. We were fortunate enough to be there while they were still under construction, so there weren't a lot of other guests. It felt like we had the entire property to ourselves, with almost no construction noise or inconvenience. The Springs is a beautiful property, lush and spacious. The hot springs throughout the property are set up so that you can meet new people and socialize or you can duck into a private secluded corner with your special someone for a quiet moment. The food was above average; not great but still quite good. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and well decorated. You couldn't hear anyone from any of the other rooms, and you couldn't see any other rooms even from the balcony. I had one of the best vacations of my life while staying at this resort and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I spent 6 nights at The Springs Resort & Spa mid-May for our honeymoon. We had an absolutely AMAZING time and were sad to leave. The property is beautiful with unbelieveable views of the volcano, whether we were at the pools, in the restaurants or in our room. The Perdidos hot springs were extremely relaxing, we grabbed early evening cocktails every night at the Perdidos bar and hung out in the springs through sunset. The resort offers a very intimate, romantic and relaxed environment which is exactly what we were looking for.

The room (#219) was fantastic. A fabulous bathroom and large bedroom with a large patio and our own private hot mineral spring. We also had two hammocks on our private covered patio which were perfect for late afternoon naps during the rain.

The staff was fabulous. Not just from a service standpoint, but also extremely friendly and great to converse with. Some of our favorites if you go there: Jose who bartends at the Perdidos Hot Springs, Ellio and Roxanna who work at the sushi bar/game room, Jonathan at the swim up bar and Grisela who worked at TreeTop Grill.

My husband and I are very active individuals, while we like our relaxing down time, we also love experiencing the activities that are known in a particular locale. The Springs Resort works closely with some of the top rated companies like Pure Trek, Wave Expeditions, Sky Trek etc. to offer their guests top notch activities. Although some of the activities are pricey, it is definately worth it. We did the Hanging Bridge Tour, Zip Lining, Waterfall Rapelling, White Water Rafting and ATV Tours. We tried to do the nighttime Lava Tour, but it wasn't clear enough.

The food was great. The breakfast buffet was a fabulous deal, sushi was fresh, I recommend the Mahi fish burger that you can order at the TreeTop Grill or swim up bar.

Overall I highly recommend this resort. What makes this property so unique is that it is truly a 5 star experience but doesn't sacrifice authenticity or local flavor for luxury. One of the only higher end resorts that makes you feel like you are truly experiencing the country you are visiting!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We had such an incredible trip with our 3 teenagers on spring break this year at the resort.We were surrounded by beauty every day and had so many things to do and see!The resort itself was breathtaking with all of the details of how it was constructed to the lush plants,awesome mineral baths,waterfalls,even a fun water slide that made you feel as if you were sliding right down a mountain!We rode horses through the rain forrest,repelled off of waterfalls,kayaked down rivers,watched lava from the volcano,ate some of the best food(especially the sushi)ever,and enjoyed the beautiful spa 3 times we were there!!As a family it was a wonderful experience and we made memories that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

If you like Spas and Hot tubs and a scenic view, this is a great place. We choose The Springs as our intro to Costa Rica. It took us about 3 hrs to drive from San Jose. The resort staff is very accommodating especially the restaurant and bar staff. The pools all have different temperatures and are spread out among the property so it's not crowded. Plus the Perdido Springs Pools are a little hike away and has a slide and a wet bar. The rooms all face the volcano so you have every chance to take in the views. We stayed in the Alta Vista room which gave us a top view and totally worth it. The bath room has a giant stoned tiled jacuzzi tub and separate rain shower with dual vanities. The food was amazing and can be order from any dining room. Our favorite was Ginger Sushi and sitting by the fire during a rain storm. Tuna Sashimi was the best I have ever eaten! Great splurge for 2 nights!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010 via mobile

We stayed in family suite - the most beatiful room with direct volcano view. Keep in mind that off season prices could be negotiated on the spot by 30 percent. Sushi bar is great. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Perfect relaxation and views.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We travelled for two weeks in Costa Rica and booked this place via a tour guide at very short notice, I am so glad we did. This place is quite simply stunning! The moment you walk into the reception area, you are met by a volcanic vista, surrounded by perfect design. The hotel is designed to bring nature inside and blend into its ourdoor surroundings. It is light, airy and a world apart from any other new hotel I have stayed in for years!

We had an upstairs room, with huge king bed, a window the size of a cinema screen and a huge balcony with his and hers hammocks from which to watch the humming birds come and go. The bathroom was just gorgeous with a large walk-in shower and jacuzzi raised from the floor... very glamorous. To top this off, unlike most hotels that have an in room mini-bar, our room hada wine rack, with a full selection of world wines. We had no need to close the curtains at night, as the rooms are so private, plus we were able to watch the most stunning display of fireflies every night and listen to nature's chorus of frogs and crickets.

To top this... the food is wonderful... (how unusual to travel to Costa Rica and find a fantastic sushi bar, prepared infront of you!) The spa... one of the best massages I have ever had. The gym is outstanding with separate cardio-room with volcano views and constant supply of fresh iced water. The staff... attentive, professional and friendly. We had such fun with the bar staff and an impromtu evening of spanish lessons and local cocktails mixed personally for us.

Last but not least... the springs... these are the reason we booked here and are simply heavenly. There are two groups of springs which consist of multiple pools of varying sizes, temperatures and strength of volcanic minerals; one of the springs is fed by a natural supply, the one surrounding the hotel itself is man made. I recommend getting up early and you will have the pools entirely to yourself, failing that go after dark when the fireflies are out, simply beautiful.

Be aware though that during the day, non-hotel resident visitors are able to pay to access the spring pools, which would be my only criticism, as this somewhat detracts from an otherwise highly private and exclusive retreat... but who can blame them. I did not want to leave and highly recommend that if you are in Costa Rica... you need to spend at least a night here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.