We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add to your top 10 places to stay before you die!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Add to your top 10 places to stay before you die!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We travelled for two weeks in Costa Rica and booked this place via a tour guide at very short notice, I am so glad we did. This place is quite simply stunning! The moment you walk into the reception area, you are met by a volcanic vista, surrounded by perfect design. The hotel is designed to bring nature inside and blend into its ourdoor surroundings. It is light, airy and a world apart from any other new hotel I have stayed in for years!

We had an upstairs room, with huge king bed, a window the size of a cinema screen and a huge balcony with his and hers hammocks from which to watch the humming birds come and go. The bathroom was just gorgeous with a large walk-in shower and jacuzzi raised from the floor... very glamorous. To top this off, unlike most hotels that have an in room mini-bar, our room hada wine rack, with a full selection of world wines. We had no need to close the curtains at night, as the rooms are so private, plus we were able to watch the most stunning display of fireflies every night and listen to nature's chorus of frogs and crickets.

To top this... the food is wonderful... (how unusual to travel to Costa Rica and find a fantastic sushi bar, prepared infront of you!) The spa... one of the best massages I have ever had. The gym is outstanding with separate cardio-room with volcano views and constant supply of fresh iced water. The staff... attentive, professional and friendly. We had such fun with the bar staff and an impromtu evening of spanish lessons and local cocktails mixed personally for us.

Last but not least... the springs... these are the reason we booked here and are simply heavenly. There are two groups of springs which consist of multiple pools of varying sizes, temperatures and strength of volcanic minerals; one of the springs is fed by a natural supply, the one surrounding the hotel itself is man made. I recommend getting up early and you will have the pools entirely to yourself, failing that go after dark when the fireflies are out, simply beautiful.

Be aware though that during the day, non-hotel resident visitors are able to pay to access the spring pools, which would be my only criticism, as this somewhat detracts from an otherwise highly private and exclusive retreat... but who can blame them. I did not want to leave and highly recommend that if you are in Costa Rica... you need to spend at least a night here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,082
    164
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
444
573
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

A fantastic hotel with first class amenities. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The staff was very helpful, courteous, and could not do enough. The room was beautiful with great views, comfortable beds, and all the comforts of home. The Springs were great and well needed after a long day . We hated to leave this hotel and it was far and away the best place we stayed in while in Costa Rica

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed at the Springs Resort in Arenal for 3 days with our two young boys (ages 6 and 10). What a fantastic place! We drove 3 hours from San Jose to get there, up and down winding roads seemingly in the middle of nowhere and then came the oasis that is the Springs. Our room was fantastic (#101)...had a separate room for the kids with 2 single beds that was perfect so they had their own space and so did we. All the rooms face the volcano. My husband enjoyed quiet coffee on the patio each morning in our pj's...listening to the sounds, watching the hummingbirds and staring at the volcano. The cat sanctuary was a huge hit with the boys and Allen was highly knowledgeable. Andres was a particularly personable waiter who went out of his way to talk to the boys and work on their spanish when he saw them. The 18 pools were beyond amazing. I think we made it to at least 15 of them. The kids particularly liked the Monkey slide which seemed almost hidden in the jungle (in a great way). We could linger in the heated mineral pool above the slide and keep an eye on the kids at the same time.
We enjoyed the restaurants and bars and made use of the game level (pool, chess and checkers) daily. The food was good but not outstanding. For dinner we'd hoped for more local cuisine...less of the international food that can be found anywhere. One suggestion for the Springs might be to add some "Typico" cuisine to the menu....the kind of food grandmas in Costa Rica cook.

While in Arenal we went to the Lake, did a horseback riding tour up the volcano with Defasio Tours [--] which was outstanding. The horses actually ran quite a bit and we all had a great time. We also went to town for dinner and did a quick tour of Lake Arenal. We didn't make it to the Hanging Bridges part (right near the lake) but it is on our list for next time.

Would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to couples or families with children. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinoi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

On the whole a very unique place to visit. The resort itself is like something out of an architectural digest or gardening magazine piece. The resort is quite unique and distinctive and beautiful. The grounds were well manicured and full of all kinds of exotic and beautiful plants. The hot springs were very nice and fun to play and soak in and you can play in beautiful waterfalls surrounded by jungles. Great for fun and romance. Our room was roomy, well furnished and featured just about every amenity I could think of , even some umbrellas to use (which helped a lot while we were there). There were unique features such as wood arched doorways and marble tiled balcony flooring. They have an excellent small zoo featuring wild cats and monkeys at the property but you need to take a golf cart tram or a horseback ride or ride an ATV down the long winding path to get there (easily arranged through the hotel staff).

some disadvantages: resort is 3.5 km away from the main road on a curvy, hilly small road which makes getting to and from the resort for day trips more lengthy. I would not recommend this resort if you want to spend lots of time in and around La Fortuna or doing lots of day trip adventures as it is rather far from the town. The resort restaurants were good and reasonable but were not outstanding . Unless you are prepared to climb up and down at least 6 flights of stairs several times per day, would not suggest this resort as it is terraced into a long hillside. There is an elevator for the resort but it was out of order our entire visit. Also, do NOT expect to see the Arenal volcano which is visible only a minority of the time. We saw perhaps 75% of the extent of the volcano at a maximum during our four day stay. I was also disappointed to find out that the lava flows and eruptions have not been visible on the Springs resort side of the volcano for quite some time; so don't expect to see any exploding volcano action while you are hanging at the resort! The electricity was out for several hours on our last evening and early morning while we were there. I would suggest bringing a flashlight! This might be a more common occurence in less developed countries.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

first-my two brothers from ablany and i went here to celebrate a big birthday-second i don't know the owner-yes this place is expensive but it is worth it!! unfortunately the website doesn't do the place justice-the website to me makes the place look a bit contrived but when there its feels very natural and perfect-i know this is hard to believe but the place works for both families with kids and for romantic couples-the place never felt crowded one bit!-the views of the volcano and valley are to die for,whether from your bedroom or from the different levels and different pools-before i forget go for the alta vista room gives you high ceilings and a higher floor-yes this is a luxury resort but it doesn't have that snob factor of other luxury places-food was very good-help was great (jonathan & randall & allan and more)if there ever was a place to splurge on this would be it-we rented a car cause it is a bit out of town and down a very very long entrance-oh and the rooms are fabulous and the bathrooms huge with great showers and tubs-i could go on and on-we didn't want to leave for our next location- another tip-when you submit emails thru the site they don't seem to get answered so try another way!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is an unearthly place. I kept asking myself, "Am I still on Earth because this is like no place I've ever been." Perhaps seeing it in the movies is the closest sensation I can relate. Serenity, enchantment, awed - these are words that come to mind when thinking about this hotel and this place - I was enraptured so to speak - staying with the whole Jurassic Park and Heaven theme. This is the most amazing hotel I have ever seen...and I live in the states in Florida. We went on our honeymoon from December 11 - 19th, a good 8 nights here.
Pros:
Amazing hotel, perfect room – the bed was sooo comfortable it had memory foam and a pillow top, loved the surround sound, the TV, the look and feel of the room, the bathroom was a great size, every room has a perfect view, if you want a view of the valley pick the Alta Vista room, if you want still a great view of the volcano and for the animals to come right up to your room pick the Vista room, the 18 springs are Perfecto - you'll find the perfect temperature or hop from one to the other, the service is fantastic - everyone is there to help you - I loved Antionetta our server, Jorge our horse-back riding guide, and Allan our tour guide who took to see the night lava tour and the hanging bridges, there are some great meals here and the breakfast is great. Food I loved: the salads, the fruit, the French toast, the gallo pinto (rice and beans), the avocado and bacon sandwich, the one chicken pasta dish they have.
Cons:
Every place has their slight let downs - even heaven I suppose, the walls are thin so if you have a noisy neighbor or one who leaves their TV on too loud (surround sound doesn't help) then this could break your perfect serenity...however the manager will be there to fix this in a jiffy and give you another more quiet room - I must mention though that it is amazing how quiet it is out here because all you hear is the beautiful water and it blocks all other sounds from a distance...they are working on more rooms here - but you can't hear it. The only other Con I can think of is that there is only a few good menu items despite there being three main restaurants...in other words there was only about 5 meals that I would get over and over again....not counting the great breakfast...now mind you we stayed there for 8 nights and around 8 days...so the meals got a little repetitious, however if you take a tour or go into La Fortuna...you won't be disappointed with food if you like rice and beans, chicken, and empanadas, and fruit.
Activities you shouldn't miss:
Lounging in the hot springs, eating food and drinking cocktails in the swim up bar, getting up early in the morning to view the volcano from your bed and porch, the hanging bridges tour - unforgettable, perhaps take an overnight trip to Monteverde per boat-ride through lake Arenal - this will cut travel time from 2 1/2 hrs by car to 1 1/1 by water - Monteverde is home to some spectacular creatures, go lining at Arenal - the thrill of a lifetime and the views are unbeatable, try and see the lava flow at night - go here during the later on dry season to see this (Feb - May my best guess), I also heard the white water rafting is a lot of fun, and also I would have loved to have gone on a river float rafting ride or tubing. Also, go into town for great food, shopping, and Costa Rican Ambience. The only downside to Costa Rica is the driving is scary with the narrow roads, potholes, and cliffs everywhere....don't let this deter you get a driver... the shuttles are worth getting from the hotel - especially don't want to rent a small car and get stuck in the mud there...I wouldn't want to drive here especially in the rain. They will drive you anywhere and the taxis are easy to get and cheap. Oh, and on another note you will get a workout here (if you're not used to it like me) so if you have severe health problems I wouldn't come to Costa Rica at all...but the hotel is on multiple levels.
Even though this hotel is expensive it is totally worth it if for what you are getting - an unbeatable life experience. I didn't want to leave. Costa Rica and the rain forest are amazing! Thank you so much Springs Resort and Spa...just breath-taking.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The place was more or less empty when we went because of the recession here in the U.S.A. It was great to have all of the hot springs practically to ourselves! The staff was warm and incredibly accommodating. The room was incredible. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.