We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort - highly recommend (for stay or day-pass visit) !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort - highly recommend (for stay or day-pass visit) !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Thank you Joey!

My husband and I recently visited the Springs Resort and were extremely impressed. During our first day in Arenal we purchased a day pass to visit the Springs and after one hour at the hotel decided to change our reservation elsewhere and book a room. The manager Joey was very accommodating and we made an easy switch. We clearly made the right choice for the start of our honeymoon. The room and grounds were beautiful, the service was great, and the spring pools were amazing! That evening we visited the hotel’s wild animal conservatory, found secluded (natural!) heated pools to soak in, had some drinks at the poolside bar, and then retreated to the Jacuzzi in our stunning bathroom. My husband and I both agreed that outside of our wedding it was our most romantic evening together. The next day we woke up to a rainy morning and were originally disappointed that we could not visit Arenal National Park. Instead, we enjoyed breakfast at the hotel (the staff kindly accommodated my husband’s dietary needs), relaxed on our private balcony’s hammocks, spotted a toucan in the distance, and got great massages  Needless to say, we were no longer upset about being “stuck” at the hotel. Our plans took us next to other cities in Costa Rica and we still regret not staying in Arenal longer. After returning to NY we posted our trip album online and sure enough our pictures of the Springs resort got the best response. Our friends and family now want to visit too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
620
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I found this place through our friends who had just been married in Costa Rica and chose the Springs for their wedding moon party. We spent the day there and had the time of our life! We loved it so much that at the end of our trip we traveled 8 hours out of our way just so we could stay there for the last 2 nights of our Costa Rican adventure. The volcano is perfectly framed by the architecture of this hotel, so pretty much anywhere you stand in this resort the view is phenomenal, from our room, and from the pool, and the hot springs, and the restaurants...and on...also, I'm a snob when it comes to my bed and linens, and I slept like a baby, it was sooo comfortable I wanted to move in :)!! It was the perfect finale to our trip!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Nestled into the side of a hill with every room having an unobstructed view of the entire Arenal Volcano.
The rooms are roomy, very comfortable and have private patios/decks. The volcano is perfectly framed in the large private picture window.
The hotel itself is 4 floors with reception on the top floor and the pools on the bottom. The many pools are lushly landscaped and vary in temperature from 104 to 78 degrees for swimming or lounging in mineral water pumped from heated volcanic water.
We had a very romantic and relaxing 3 day visit and there are many attractions to keep busy......the hotel van drive into the Park to watch the volcano erupt, a 2 hour walk through the bridges in the rain forest, river rafting & high wire trips through the tree canopy and rappelling down from waterfalls.
There are very few more beautiful settings when the weather is nice, but if it is not, you may never see the volcano. Also, Arenal Volcano is not like Old Faithful and you may not be fortunate to see it erupt.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at The Springs in Arenal. We have stayed at many memorable hotels over the last 10 years, but our experience at The Springs was the best. The hotel was immaculate in every way. The details in design and luxury were incredible. The service was very personal and punctual. The food was diverse. The hot springs on site were gorgeous and well cared for. The views of the volcano from our room were beyond belief. I had read other reviews discussing the borderline quality of the road leading to the hotel, but we found it to be very safe and easy to travel. We did a ton a day-trips from the hotel - canopy tour, canyoneering, and hiking. All the tours were exceptional. The hotel owner, Lee Banks, was on-site during much of our stay. He has an incredible imagination, and has truly created a masterpiece. The hotel manager, Joey, was also tremendous. The hotel is great for all ages. We loved the hotel so much that we changed our plans to stay at Mr. Bank's other hotel (peace lodge) in the rain forest for the other portion of our trip. I could go on and on. Just trust me and stay there. It is GREAT!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This resort hotel is amazing! Although it is still under construction, there are so many wonderful things to explore. The hot springs are located on site and just a step away from your room. We also highly recommend the sushi at the resort, the BEST we've ever had! They also have cats, lima's, puma's and panthers, all available to see as you hike down this fabulous landscape to the zoo area. Our room was that of paradise. The photo is the view from our balcony. It overlooked the volcano and was very peaceful and private. I would recommend anyone heading to Costa Rica for relaxation or romance this fabulous Resort and Spa. The spa services are also wonderful, although if you don't speak Spanish, you may have some language barriers. I can't wait to return to this awesome place...

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Awesome place. Very posh. Rooms were great, well stocked minibars. Hot springs on site, varying temperatures. And hey-ya' gotta' give it up for a bar you have to wade up to. Good food everywhere we ate.

We never made it into La Fortuna. It's a bit pricey to stay at the Springs Resort so we wanted to experience it. If you want night life, you'll have to go into the city and you can defintitely stay at a cheaper place. If you want quiet and posh (e.g. families) this is your spot. Note that day passes are available.

Would definitely go back.

Recommendations:
1. Our stay included a complimentary massage. Book it as soon as possible (or even in advance of your arrival) as we were only there two days and couldn't get in.

2. GET THE SUSHI CHESS! It's not on the menu, but they have a game area (pool/darts/large chess board) near the sushi bar. Skip the sushi boat and get the chess instead. They take the board, wrap it in plastic, and bring it back set up. Recommend the tuna for the pawns as it was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

So I stayed in this hotel two nights in January and there were both hits and misses.

Pros
Mostly consists of the facilities. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms fully equiped. The view in the room is great if you stay during a period when the volcano is not covered by clouds (our first day). The free massage was a nice touch.

Cons
Mostly comes down to service type issues. When we arrived everyone was very nice and gave us a tour and showed us to our room. As the previous few days had been very busy and we were in a spa named after its springs we opted to hang out at the hotel that afternoon. Little did we know that the hotel was going to be spending the day using a jackhammer the entire afternoon to do construction right in the middle of the area with their springs (and near our room). Makes it a little difficult to relax.

Next the hotel is mostly empty and the hotel staff has clearly been streamlined. The springs were unattended when we arrived and eventually one of the construction workers found me a towel. The bartender who came and went made drinks that were small and watered down. The staff seemed to be a bunch of kids hanging out.

The next day we went rafting and were told the road (10 minute drive from any civilization)would be closed most of the day but open up later. When we returned, 2 hours after the road was supposed to be opened, work was still ongoing with several people were standing at the gate with their luggage and unable to get the hotel. Instead of staff available to help we ended up walking a good 20-30min to the hotel while the staff FROM OUR RAFTING TRIP helped out the waiting guests.

Restaurants were average and expensive. Because of the empty resort all dinner menus were replaced by the one from the more expensive restaurant.

Finally, after leaving I forgot an inexpensive but important item to myself in my room (along with a great tip for housekeeping). I emailed a little over 24 hours later and never received a response. Many emails over > 1 week using the web sight contact and the same email contact that they responded to within hours when I initially booked inquiring as to whether anyone had seen my item were ignored. A no but we will keep an eye out for it would have been satisfactory.

In short, did I have a good time? Absolutely (I was in Costa Rica afterall). However, I stayed at many less expensive places during my stay that were more authentic to Costa Rica without the constant problems at Springs. Maybe the jackhammer and road construction were flukes, but the lack of reply to every attempt to contact them after checking out is unforgivable. Might be worth a try, but next time would probably save my money by visiting the springs (on a day without jackhammers) and stay closer to La Fortuna. And finally don't leave anything behind or have a question about your bill, because once you leave they will not respond to communication.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.