We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved it if not for the day trippers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
San Diego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Would have loved it if not for the day trippers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

The hotel was grand. Five floors of common space. The room was absolutely beautiful. The spa's sauna had the most incredible wood work I'd ever seen. Not to mention the amazing 18 pools and hot springs.

There was but one problem - being the most expensive hotel in the area, yet it allowed day trippers to come in for $25 a day and to use all the facilities and pools till 11 pm at night! Why pay $400+ to stay there? The pools were always busy with day trippers. The way the hotel was built required a large number of staff - so many common facilities, restaurants, spas, pools - all needed people around the clock. Revenue from day trippers might be what kept all the people employed. But really, the hotel should have some "hotel guest only" areas to service the paying customers.

Bottom line, it was a really nice facility. Kudos to the builder/developer! Still needs some work to learn how to run the place though.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    194
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
515
672
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

My husband & I stayed here for two nights of our 1st anniversary trip and it was the most luxurious hotel we've seen. It was a huge splurge for us but we felt relaxed and spoiled the entire time.

The rooms are comfortable and huge with a nice wet bar, plush king bed, a flat screen almost as big as the bed, a porch just feet away from wildlife, and a luxury bathroom with jacuzzi. Request turn-down service at check-in, they do a lovely job with sprinkled flowers and treats from Cafe Britt.

The public areas (if you can stand to leave the room) are equally luxe, covering everything you could possibly need. Multiple restaurants (including a sushi bar!), a spa, fitness center with the best view in the world, comfortable lounge areas if you want to read or play chess, and more pools than you'll know what to do with. We spent most of our time in Los Perdidos as they were closer to our room. Spending a day floating in hot springs with a cold Bavaria is enough to make you want to quit your job and never leave Costa Rica. Everything smells like guava; after staying here for just a few days it's the scent I now associate with CR.

Our two night package included free massages, which were very good and longer than I expected. This was my first massage that wasn't on a cruise ship so I was pleasantly surprised that there was no sales pitch for oils or additional services. The masseuses were professional and worked out all of our stress. My only regret is that we did the massages before we went on a rappelling excursion instead of after.

The Springs is isolated so don't plan on going into La Fortuna very much. It's reached by a long and bumpy road; once you reach the resort you won't want to drive it again. We stopped at a grocery store in advance since we didn't plan to eat every meal at their restaurants; good thing we did since there are no other places to eat within walking distance. Both nights we went to their sushi bar- tasty but more pricey than we're used to. The ginger and rainbow rolls were delicious and the chef was friendly.

I was disappointed to see that they offer day passes to the hot springs that include transportation from other hotels. When you're paying a minimum of $300/night to stay somewhere the last thing you want to see on the hotel van is an ad for hot springs access for $25/day. It was a worthwhile splurge for our anniversary, but if I ever return to the Arenal area I'll definitely be staying somewhere cheaper and shuttling in to use the springs.

Overall The Springs is the place to go if you have a special occasion (I can't think of a better place to honeymoon) or lots of money to burn. The hot springs are well kept and a great spot to relax, I can't imagine a place I'd rather be during a brief green season sprinkle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in Oct 09. We did not make reservations in advance as we knew it would be low season, and we wanted to check things out before we commited to staying there. We were given a 30min tour by the hotel manager, who was very attentive, friendly, and offered us a small discount to entice our business. This, however, was hardly necessary because halfway through our short tour we were sold. We had visited the Arenal area many times before, and have stayed at Tabacon or sometimes stayed at a cheap hotel in La Fortuna combined with a Tabacon day pass. We will NEVER stay anywhere else again.

The attention to detail in the decor is exquisite. Truly the lap of luxury. This hotel had been open just less than a year when we stayed there, so naturally everything was fresh and in great condition. Apart from that, everything was extremely clean. Our room was beautiful and the large bed was very comfortable. The springs located near the main building were nice but some of them were closed for maintenance on our second day (for this inconvenience we were each given 4 four free drinks and a free breakfast buffet without even complaining to anyone) The Los Perdidos springs were just next to the main area and are located in a lush jungle-like setting. The dense vegetation makes them secluded, and at night the soft lighting set amongst the plants makes for a very romantic and relaxing atmosphere. There are more waterfalls than I could count which provided nice background in addition to the chirping birds. The guava trees were dropping ripe guavas onto the forest floor and the smell was so invigorating that I can still imagine it perfectly. The waterslide was a lot of fun, much better than the small slide at Tabacon. I should mention that obviously all the pools are man-made, but are meant to look as natural as possible. I prefer these to those at Tabacon because they are all smooth bottomed. (At Tabacon they often are bottomed with rocks and silt which can hurt your feet.) The hotel also has a small collection of rescued exotic cats which you can see. Of course, the top attraction other than the springs is the volcano. All rooms have an awesome view of the volcano. Unfortunately, as the volcano influences the weather patterns, it often collects clouds about its cone....and our views were often obstructed by passing clouds (this would be the same at any hotel in the area...so, it is not fault of this hotel that the volcano was hiding) Also, for that reason we didn't see any lava at night. We have seen the volcano on many occasions, therefore, the lack of night viewing didn't ruin our experience too much...but for those hoping to see the volcano and the lava...you just need to give yourself a couple nights and cross your fingers. We have always had great luck in October...this was our first October trip where we did not have great night viewing, but if it wasn't cloudy I would have loved to watch from my hotel room balcony which felt very private and the hammocks were nice. flat screens and surround soung were great additions, and the shower was luxurious. Because it was the off season several of the restaurants were closed, as there was probably >20 ppl staying at the resort. I suppose if it were more crowded perhaps it would detract form the romantic secluded ambience. The restaurants were all pretty pricey, which is unfortunate since it is so secluded up on the mountain. Which, by the way, you definitely need a good vehicle to get up and down. Another complaint would be that the pool table had no chalk and the dart board only had 3 darts. We received complimentary massages which were very nice, not the best I've had, but acceptable. The amount of walking might be a bit much for inactive people, partcularly if you forget things in your room or change your mind a lot. Also, in the rainy season there is no covered walkway to the rooms from the main building so we got wet a lot witout an umbrella. However, I can't say enough how impressive the architecture, decor, and general ambience was! The photos do not do justice to the size of it. To judge how large it is, try to pick out the green umbrellas on the porch of the main house. Also, the rooms are not located in the main house, they are just below it on the hill-side. The staff were all friendly and attentive as well. On our last morning the construction on the new section disturbed us as they began using a sledge hammer on the brick walkway outside our door at ~7am...but that was the first time it bothered us. Note, there is not a casino yet on the property. Overall, it was an amazing place that we didn't want to leave...most of the time we were there we were scheming about a return trip and who we could introduce this wonderful hotel to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

This place is amazing. Everything was perfect. The rooms had any thing you could possibly need. The view of the volcano was amazing. I have nothing negative to say. The staff was helpful. We had a great couples massage. Buffet breakfast was excellent. The dinner buffet could use some improvement. The many swimming pools were great. It was nice to relax in the warm pool with the fantastic view.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed 2 nights, 3 days at The Springs .
Without a doubt this is an exquisitely beautiful hotel. Every room of the hotel including every presonal suite has been carefully planned to have optimal view of the stunning Arenal volcano, which really is breath-takng. From the minute you pull up to the hotel to the minute you leave, you will have optimal service and care lavished on you. The rooms are luxurious, the setting beautiful, the hotel decadent. If this type of hand and foot service and polished front is what you are after then you will get your money's worth. If you are here to see the true Costa Rica however this will not be for you. This is a tailored, lacquered one dimensional accomodation full of shameless luxury, American tourists and manicured pools. Don't get me wrong you will have the most comfortable stay. We however wouldn't have stayed more than the 2 nights we did as there's a real feeling of being wrapped in a bubble a million miles away from the true, real beauty of Costa Rica.
The actual Springs - over 12 pools if I re-call are wonderful, ranging from cool to bubbling hot, we had a lot of fun jumping from one to another and the waterslide is hilarious fun. The service we got from 'Alan' our doorman was personal and attentive, the few things we would fault conceptually is a) the food. It was over-Americanized and lacked authenticity and taste (though not in price) and b) the quad tour we did. At over £100 pp, though fun and through wonderful countryside, it was unadventurous, probably aimed at fat Americans and we have been on far, far better.

In a nutshell we're glad we experienced this stay, and I would recommend this hotel to a particular type of person, but I'm not sure we'd go back as it wasn't for us. We are more interested in gaining insight & culture into a country when we visit.....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Don't even think of staying anywhere else near Arenal. I cannot begin to tell you how gorgeous this place is. The staff is so helpful. Its a spread out resort but if you don't want to walk around, they will drive you around in a golf ccart. Just call them up and they sent it to you. So many hot springs, a gorgeous pool, so many bars, unbelievable food.
there is a business center with computers. if you need to be online, you'll need to bring your laptop to the lobby area. connection is spotty at best in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I've been to a lot of places but this one tops them all! Words cannot describe how wonderful our experience at this resort was. First, the property is out of this world - true heaven on earth. Waking up in the morning with the direct view of the volcano and beautiful grounds was exceptional. The springs were enchanting... The food--first class, the personalized service...everything.. simply perfect.

I highly, highly reccomend this resort and will be going again soon.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.