We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pompano Beach, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I stayed once in August and a second week in September. Both stays were excellent. What more can I say but "perfection". The people are exceptional and the views are breathtaking. They have every single detail covered. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    169
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
457
597
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We did not actually stay at the hotel, but we visited the hot springs during a recent trip to Costa Rica. I must say the resort is absolutely stunning, it is beautiful in and out. The hot springs were very nice, and the landscape was beautiful. But our trip to the resort was cut very short due to rain. The roads leading to the Resort were very steep, and were not paved. We were affraid that if it rained too much, and got too slippery that we would get stuck and not be able to get out to the main road, to get back to out hotel.

I was very surprised that in all the reviews I read about this property that there was nothing mentioning the conditions of the road leading to the hotel. This road is 3 miles long, and is all gravel/dirt. They resort is going working on the road now, and told us they hoped to have in completed within the year, but for now, you really need to have a 4WD vehicle or chance getting stuck. At the first sight of rain, we left the property, loaded as much weight to the back of our vehicle and went on our way. We only had minor slipping troubles, but there were several other people in our situation, and those in smaller cars were not so lucky. They would slip and slide back down the steep roads. We were just glad to be out of there before the rain got harder as it did not long after. The resort will be very nice once the road is completed, but for now, I would not consider it a 5 star resort just based on the inaccessibilty the roads cause.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at The Springs for only one night as part of our 4 nights stay in the Arenal area as we wanted to enjoy an entire day in the Springs and not worry about driving back to our hotel. I did not choose this hotel as our primary hotel in the area as it is very expensive, a bit out of the way and and I feared it would be overrun with way too many people. But surprisingly, it was very quiet during our stay. We stayed last December before the holidays and before many people knew about this place. For the purpose of using the springs, it was perfect. I don't think the food is fantastic, though we only had food from the bar and dinner at one of the more casual restaurants outside by the springs that was sufficient. We got great service at the pools, though the bar down by los perdidos was closed which was disappointing. After 8pm we had the main hot spring that has a swim up bar mostly to ourselves which was ideal. The rooms are amazing and though we never got to see the very top of the volcano due to all the clouds, the views could be enjoyed from both our bed and the lovely large balconies in front. The bathroom is very well appointed with a huge jacuzzi type tub and very large shower. Everything except for your welcome drink is an extra cost, including breakfast which should be included in nightly rate. Maybe not the best value, but the springs are probaly worth the splurge if you have children or love spending your entire day in the pools which are truly special. Has a side note, they did leave the battery on in our rent-a-car and try to blame it on us, but paid for our cab to our excursion the next day, fixed the car and had it delievered to us so I can't complain too much about that. Overall, a very nice place to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Springs was beautiful and friendly and had great service. Don't follow the crowds to Tabacon - the Springs is better! Joey the manager is great and so is Alan (or Allen, not sure which spelling), who gives tours. One caveat - the massages were only so-so.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband I spent a week in Costa Rica, 2 nights of which were spent in the Volcano Arenal area. We were tipped off to try The Springs by a business owner we met on the way to the area. This is a new Resort, just a year old. It is stunning. The craftmanship and attention to all details are apparent everywhere. Staff were wonderful, the tours (canoping, canyoning and ATV) that we booked through the hotel were top notch.

Our room was roomy, beautiful, with a tremendous view of the Volcano and a large balcony. The bathroom was huge with a super tub, perfect for two!

The hotel was running an off season special where we received 2 spa treatments with a 2 night stay. The spa is as lovely as the rest of the resort, which appears huge. The website doesn't do it justice.

We ate at 3 of the restaurants in the hotel, all were good. We really didn't want to leave, and highly recommend this resort as the perfect place for romance and adventure. The hot springs pools that seems to be all over the property were lovely as well...much to do, spend more than a few nights!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Springs in September. The pictures on the hotel's website do not do it justice. It is a 5 star resort all the way. The rooms are beautiful and comparable to rooms found at most Ritz Carlton or Four Season hotels. The view from the bed is directly on the volcano, while a lcd tv hangs unobstructively above the picture window. The hot springs offer the ultimate in relaxation and are great after a day of activities. It is a long bumpy road to the hotel from the main road but most tour operators will pick up for a small additional fee ($15 each way), and that alone should not deter you from staying here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

The location is good and bad. It has a breathtaking view of the Volcano (fifth time to Arenal, first time actually seeing it.) We chose the less expensive Vista room, I can not imagine that the Alta Vista rooms have a better view.

The choice of hot springs was very impressive. Since it is low season, the hotel was pretty empty. So Los Perdidos (the lost springs) was very romantic and secluded. The Laguna swim up bar is the best place to meet and chat with fellow travellers.

The rooms were nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was positioned you could lie in bed and look at the mountain through the picture window and still watch the flat screen positioned over it.

And there is time to watch tv. The resort pretty much rolls up by 10pm. But that gave us a chance to try out the beautiful, hand tiled, jaquizzi. My husband is 6'3, and he was able to stretch out fully in the tub. He loved it.

If at all possible, take advantage of the promotional price they are offering now. The promotion includes 2 free massages. So at the discounted rate, with the spa credit, The Springs is an amazing value as well as an amazing resort.

The one problem is that they haven't finished paving the road yet. It is 3.5 km of authentic Costa Rican driving. I recommend 4WD and a sports bra. But it is all good, we never wanted to leave anyway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.