We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Love Love Love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

The Springs was a superb and unexpected stay! My husband and I were married in Manuel Antonio, and decided to take a mini-moon to the place where we were engaged, which happened to be the Peace Lodge, which is another amazing hotel from the same owners. As mother nature took her course with the earthquake, so did our plans with staying at the Peace Lodge. The hotel gave us two choices: refund or stay at their new sister hotel, The Springs. We had went to Arenal once before and never saw the volcano because of the clouds, so I thought, here is my second chance! Much to our luck, Areal volcan was in clear view for 2 days straight! Here are some details:
Location: From the main road, the town of La Fortuna is about a 10-15 min drive, but from this main road you take another more country road inwards for about another 4km to the hotel. Once you arrive there you know why the hotel was built there! The volcano is there with all her glory, if you can see it, of course!

Staff: Wonderful! I am biased a little because I love all Costa Rican people, but the staff were truly friendly and provided awesome services. Albero took us around for a tour of the grounds and the hotel, and was very nice. Throughout our whole stay everyone was great, and spoke great English. There was also awesome staff member named Daniel who seemed to be always there ready to help us!

Hotel: WOW!! The main building hosts the lobby,one of the stores, most of the bars and restaurants. Most of the building is open air and have large windows to allow the guest to look at the volcano every chance they can. The rooms are stationed past the upper pool areas. The rooms are even nicer than in the pictures. The bathroom is luxurious as well as bed! The cool thing is also there is Wi-Fi in all the rooms as well, and there is speakers throughout the room, and even in the bathrooms. Hook up your ipod and relax on the hammock!

Grounds: The grounds are gorgeous! There is a main pool that has the swim-up bar, as well as the perfect picture spot for the volcano. Throughout the upper grounds, are about 12 pools of different sizes and temperatures that have lots of little areas where people can find their little nook to hang out in. The Perdido hot springs are surrounded by beautiful flowers and vegetation. There are about 7 different springs, and lots of fun to take a dip in. There is a awesome slide that is meant for kids, but believe me, very fun! Take advantage of the fact that the springs are not crowded like Tabacon, because soon I am sure it will be!!!

Food: Since we had already been to the Arenal area before, we decided that we just wanted to stay at the hotel the whole time. There are plenty of restaurants to eat at and variety for just a 3 day stay. We ate at the Sushi restaurant which was delicious, and at the Tres Cascades for room service and for dinner, and it was also quite good as well. However, the prices of the food were a little steep for some the lunch and snack items. The food was undoubtedly good but the food and drink bill can be higher than you expect if you don't watch out! If you like to drink or want to drink more because you are on vacation, bring a bottle of your own booze!

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel. It is luxurious without being pretentious or losing the Costa Rican feel. The rooms and grounds are beautiful, and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    170
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
458
599
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

I stayed at this resort with my boyfriend and the whole experience completely blew us away. The rooms were beautiful with the private patio and luxurious bathroom including a shower, hot tub, and double sinks. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Manfred is an excellent employee who gave us an private tour of the wild-cat cages which were very interesting and fun. Beside the fabulous rooms, the mineral springs were the best feature of the hotel. There are pools everywhere of varying warm temperatures that you can hop into and the separate network of pools are amazing. I have never felt so relaxed in my life than when I was sitting back in the springs looking up at the stars in the sky. Read all the other reviews for further details, but I highly recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Costa Rica. If you go soon, you can probably still negotiate a cheaper rate as they are willing to in this opening phase. Construction was barely noticed (saw some men quietly polishing the woodwork), so I would not let that deter you. My only regret was not spending more time at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My husband i recently began our honeymoon here, what a treat. Our driver mistakenly took us to another hotel in the area to begin with and my heart sank as it was no way up to the level of this one.The receptionist in the other hotel, which shall remain nameless, whispered to me that The Springs was fabulous and the thermal pools were 'be-yoo-tiful', and that she was off there herself that night!
When we did arrive at our chosen destination, we were both amazed -my husband was very impressed as he had no idea where we should have been staying as i had done all the booking.
We began with a personal tour of the hotel-bars, restaurants, pools. Las Ventanas restaurant had truly stunning views over the forest and volcano, so we booked ourselves a table straight away. Tres Cascadas is another restaurant where you can have breakfast and volcano watch in the early morning.
The landscaped pool areas are delightful, with lots of small areas hidden away. Only 20 rooms are open at the moment,with another 160 due to be completed over the next 4 years, but you get no sense of any building work, as the main infrastructure of the place is finished, apart from the casino.
Our room was just gorgeous!!! A marble bathroom with jacuzzi completed by a flower arrangment in the corner, voile curtains draped either side, separate shower, matching his and hers sinks...The bedroom was spacious and the bed was the most comfortable one i have EVER slept on-and that incudes my own at home!! The best thing was the view...we could sit in bed and watch the stately volcano in all it's glory, although it took until the last day to see the top clearly. We slept with the drapes open and watched the sunrise both mornings.
The marble terrace outside was perfect too, a chilled glass of something nice in the hand watching the sun set.
As honeymooners, we were given a choice of a complimentary bottle of wine from the in-room wine racks. Coffee was provided every day in the wet bar area, and on Valentine's day, we came back to the room to find a towel sculpture of 2 swans embracing, covered in rose petals! Another arrangement of roses graced the room during our stay too.
A large DVD library is yours to choose from, just ring reception and someone will deliver it to your room, and you cna watch it on your home entertainemt system. One night we had run out of ice, and my husband, on the way to the bar to refill the ice bucket, was intercepted a man on a golf buggy who swiftly relieved him of his task and collected the ice for us.
The pools are fabulous, we found a secluded hot spring and chilled out there. At the moment, the hotel is quiet enoiugh that you can almost have apool to yourself.
The food is great, as is the chioce of wines in the restaurant. We only ate evening meals in Las Ventanas, and they were lovely-no volcanic action at night sadly!
There is also a gift shop that sells a good range of gifts and chocolates, coffee etc..
To top it off, the spa is one of the most impressive ones i have been in , and i have tried loads on my travels in Asia..we got a complimentary couples massage which was divine-my husband is now into spa treatments!

We will definately return. It made a memorable start to our honey moon, which was then followed by 5 nights at the Gaia Hotel in Manuael Antonio and a night at Finca Rosa Blanca in San Jose (see reviews, equally lovely hotels)
A great place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We had the opportunity to visit the Springs Resort recently and were rewarded with a breathtaking experience! The resort is a pristine, brand new complex over looking the Arenal volcano.

There is quite a long drive over dramatic rivers thru cow pastures to get to the resort but don't let that deter you. This is one hotel that is a hidden gem off the beaten path. The restuarants like Las Ventana, are beautiful and over look the mountainside and thermal baths.

The baths are wonderful and it takes days to explore them all. There is a fantastic spa that will have a men's side and women's side but right now all are using one. It's simply heaven.

The hot springs are glorious and this was the purpose for our trip. There are several pools of varying temperatures from very hot to mild to cold, located all over the property. The swim up bars are nice and you must try the pina coladas since the area is famous for their pineapples. They have kept a lagoon feel to the resort and the flora and fauna really add to the ambience.

The town of La Fortuna is very quaint. We ate at the Lava Lounge and Vagabondo's a few times. I'd recommend Mundo Aventures for canopy and zip line tours and shell out the $US26 for the photo CD. It is totally worth the money. We water skiied everyday with our buddy Jim Kilsdonk at [-]

Fantastic Costa Rican vacation...we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.