We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, calm environment ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Relaxing, calm environment ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Springs with my family and a friend's. What an awesome place! It's a haven in the jungle. A number of pools, fed by the hot springs underground - you can start in the one that's at 87 degrees and progress to warmer and warmer ones till you get in the one at 102 degrees.
The staff is bilingual, professional, and wonderful. We were so well taken care of!
The days we were at the resort were beautiful, clear and we had such great views of Arenal. We could actually see the column of steam and hot gases rising from the cupola.
The only setback to this lovely place is the bumpy rutted 2 mile stretch of road from the highway to the hotel. I wish it had been paved!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
619
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I had a great experience at the Springs for our Honeymoon. We did 4 nights in Arenal (The Springs Resort) and then 4 nights in Manuel Antonio (I wrote a review of The Gaia). The service at The Springs was fantastic and they did a fabulous job of making us feel special and they went out of their way to celebrate our Honeymoon. This included a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room with chocolate covered strawberries! Another night they brought a plate of tropical fruits and another night was chocolates and then a plate of meat and cheeses. They remembered our names and congratulated us everywhere we went. It's amazing how friendly the employees of The Springs are. Here are a couple of notes that will help you if you decide to stay at The Springs:
1. It was about a 3.5 hour drive from San Jose airport and cost $150. DON'T RENT A CAR. Costa Rican drivers are the BEST in the world. It's chaos on those roads but these guys know how to maneuver on these crazy roads. I know for a fact, I would have gotten lost or killed trying to navigate from the airport to the hotel. Well worth the $150 plus a $40 tip. Plus it's a fascinating drive through the mountainous jungle.
2. If you get a good view of the Volcano, take photos and really appreciate it. We arrived on Monday and it was perfectly clear. The next 3 days you couldn't see anything. It was foggy and wet. Don't forget like I did that you're going to a RAIN FOREST. If you're planning on doing excursions bring rain gear. Manuel Antonio had totally different weather. The Springs is set up so you can still have a fantastic time even in less than ideal weather. The hot Springs are relaxing and the Spa is top notch.
3. The grounds are immaculate. The attention to details is amazing and something to appreciate as you are literally in the middle of the jungle. The wildlife is amazing and you'll wake up to humming birds, tucans and we down by the river you'll see howler monkeys and sloths.

We had a great experience and The Springs is well deserving of a 5 star-rating.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow! This place is also a hotel. I didn't know that. This place is gorgeous. If we come back to Costa Rica this is where is like to stay. Plenty of hot springs and pools. We purchased an excursion to their hot springs and dinner. The dinner was buffet style. They have a great wine selection. Had an Argentinian pinot noir. Excellent. The buffet was good. The pasta bar was a hit. They also have a sushi bar on a different floor. This lockers/showers/restroom for pool guests were clean and well stocked with toiletries and hair dryers. Service is very friendly and excellent. Return? YES!!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited The Springs and went white water kayaking, took a hike up the volcano and did the hanging bridges tour through the rainforest. We didn't get to do rappelling but I heard great things about it and would have done it if the schedule allowed.

The service at the resort is fantastic and the rooms are spacious and luxurious. The bathroom has a shower and a full spa tub and the private balcony is beautiful for just enjoying the view with coffee or lying on the hammocks. There are plenty of springs - many around the main pool area but also check out the ones in the forest behind Club Rio and the lost falls (Perdidos) across the pathway from the lower pool level.

We found the food and drinks to be great and enjoyed the sushi bar the best. We were so active during the day that we didn't really look for any nightlife. If you are looking for something more than just hanging at the bar or going in the hot springs at night, there isn't anything onsite or wasn't while we were there.

Be prepared that the ride from the airport (SJO) is around 2.5 hours and is very hilly and curvy but you can easily book a ride through the hotel and the driver is easy to find at the airport and the expense is added to hotel bill.

The entire resort is very relaxing and great for a couple getaway or if you are looking for an active vacation with beautiful scenery.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Springs is wonderful, even in the rain. The service is awesome and the pools are so much fun. We were there for the first 3 days of our honeymoon and it was nice to acclimate to Costa Rica in a place where everyone spoke English and we didn't have to plan anything.
Pros: staff, amazing view, rooms, grounds, activities on site (movie rentals, room service, spa, zoo, river, pools, water slide, etc.)
Cons: a little packaged and fakey for the adventurous types, may not ever see the volcano due to clouds, very isolated from town and other activities, expensive

Room Tip: All rooms are great. No need to get an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York, Usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is by far the best hotel that I have ever stayed! First of all the staffing is beyond amazing! Gerald and Roberto from Club Rio quick think saved me from almost drowning (I'm not a good swimmer), the staff thoughtout the hotel is beyond friendly and helpful, and the hotel is just stunning! This is the first trip I've taken and spent 90% at the hotel! It has everything! Amazing food, an assortment of activities on the property, and the views from the hotel is stunning! The room was beautiful, clean and with an amazing garden! It was the rainy season but still by far one of the best trips I've ever taken! I can't wait to get back again! I don't think I could stay at another hotel without the exceptional expectations of this one again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to relax and be treated like a King or Queen this is the place to go. The food is good not great. Except for the breakfast buffet guava jelly is to die for. Andre cooks eggs prefect how every you want them. The hot springs of very relaxing also. Club Rio which is part or the resort is a great way to stay entertained while you are there. Even did a little fishing in the river at the resort (thanks Roberto). Don't go if you are bothered by a little rain. Remember it is in a RAIN FOREST it will rain and you might not even see the Volcano. If you can't relax here, you just can't relax.
Greg
The road to the resort is not good.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.